The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Mayors, Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of Meadville, 1866-1962 (may be incomplete!)
William Reynolds 1866 James A. Dunn 1867 Arthur Cullum 1868 James G. Foster 1869 Samuel B. Dick 1870 Archibald S. Dickson 1871-72 James D. Gill 1873 H. L. Richmond, Jr. 1874 Myron Park Davis 1875-76 George W. Delamater 1877 Milton H. McNair 1878 Charles W. Miller 1879-80 George B. Sennett 1881 Walter S. Harper 1882-83 Charles Farnicorn 1884 Athelston Gaston as of 1891 E. W. Lawrence as of 1920 William Jones as of 1927 Charles W. Gill as of 1929 Fred C. Kiebort 1933-37 Fred F. Whipple 1937 Fred A. Metz as of 1953 A. T. Honeycutt as of 1954-56 George X. Simonetta as of 1960 William C. Arthur as of 1962

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1913 Nov 4: John E. Reynolds, elected; E. W. Lawrence, defeated.

    Burgesses of Meadville, 1823-65 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Atkinson 1823-24 Arthur Cullum 1824 John B. Wallace 1825 William Foster 1826 Robert L. Potter 1827 James Hamilton 1828 James Cochran 1829 John Dick 1830 Joseph Patterson 1831 George Davis 1832 John Reynolds 1833 John Dick 1834 Jesse Rupp 1835 James Cochran 1836 John W. Farrelly 1837 Andrew Smith 1838 John W. Farrelly 1839-41 Gaylord Church 1842 Alfred Huidekoper 1843 Norman Callender 1844 William Davis, Jr. 1845-46 David M. Farrelly 1847 John Carr 1848 Darwin A. Finney 1848 Arthur Cullum 1849 John Dick 1850-51 Norman Callender 1852 William H. Davis 1853 A. B. Richmond 1854 Jonathan Hamnett 1855 John McFarland 1856 John H. Mattocks 1857-58 Arthur Cullum 1859 John Mahoney 1860 William Hope 1861 John H. Mattocks 1862 William Davis, Jr. 1863 Arthur Cullum 1864 William Reynolds 1865

    Postmasters at Meadville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    E. A. Hempstead as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/meadville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]