The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pennsylvania: Continental Congress

Delegates to Continental Congress from Pennsylvania, 1774-89 (May be incomplete!)
Edward Biddle 1774 John Dickinson 1774-76 Joseph Galloway 1774-75 Charles Humphreys 1774-76 Thomas Mifflin 1774-75 John Morton 1774-75 Samuel Rhoads 1774-75 George Ross 1774 Andrew Allen 1775-76 Benjamin Franklin 1775 Thomas Willing 1775 James Wilson 1775 George Clymer 1776 Robert Morris 1776 Benjamin Rush 1776-77 James Smith 1776 George Taylor 1776 William Clingan 1777-79 Daniel Roberdeau 1777-79 Jonathan Bayard Smith 1777 John Armstrong 1778-80 Samuel John Atlee 1778-82 Joseph Reed 1778 James Searle 1778 William Shippen 1778 James McLene 1779-80 Frederick Augustus Conrad Muhlenberg 1779-80 Henry Wynkoop 1779-82 Jared Ingersoll 1780-81 Timothy Matlack 1780 Joseph Montgomery 1780-82 Thomas Smith 1781-82 Thomas Fitzsimons 1782 Thomas Mifflin 1782-84 John Montgomery 1782-84 Richard Peters, Jr. 1782-83 Cadwalader Morris 1783-84 Joseph Gardner 1784-85 Edward Hand 1784 William Henry 1784-85 William Montgomery 1784 John Bubenheim Bayard 1785 Matthew Clarkson 1785 David Jackson 1785 Charles Pettit 1785-87 Arthur St. Clair 1785-87 William Bingham 1786-88 William Irvine 1786-88 Samuel Meredith 1786-88 John Armstrong, Jr. 1787-88 James Randolph Reid 1787 Tench Coxe 1789

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/ccdel.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]