The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pennsylvania: State Auditors General

Pennsylvania State Auditors General, 1809-2004 (May be incomplete!)
George Bryan 1809-21 James Duncan 1821-24 David Mann 1824-30 Daniel Sturgeon 1830-36 Joseph Henderson 1836 Nathaniel P. Hobart 1836-39 George R. Espy 1839-42 William F. Packer 1842-45 John N. Purviance 1845-50 Ephraim Banks 1851-57 Jacob Fry, Jr. 1857-60 Jacob Fryle, Jr. 1857-60 Thomas E. Cochran 1860-63 Isaac Slenker 1863-66 John F. Hartranft 1866-72 C. D. Brigham 1872 Harrison Allen 1872-75 Justus F. Temple 1875-78 William P. Schell 1878-81 John A. Lemon 1881-84 Jerome B. Niles 1884-87 A. Wilson Norris 1887-88 Thomas McCamant 1888-92 David M. Gregg 1892-95 Amos H. Mylin 1895-98 Levi G. McCauley 1898-1901 Edmund B. Hardenbergh 1901-04 William P. Snyder 1904-07 Robert K. Young 1907-10 A. E. Sisson 1910-13 Archibald W. Powell 1913-17 Charles A. Snyder 1917-21 Samuel S. Lewis 1921-25 Edward Martin 1925-29 Charles A. Waters 1929-33 Frank E. Baldwin 1933-37 Warren R. Roberts 1937-41 F. Clair Ross 1941-44 Ted A. Rosenberg 1945 G. Harold Wagner 1945-49 Weldon B. Heyburn 1949-53 Charles R. Barber 1953-57 Charles C. Smith 1957-61 Thomas Z. Minehart 1961-65 Grace M. Sloan 1965-69 Robert P. Casey 1969-77 Bob Casey, Jr. 1997-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1868: Charles E. Boyle (Dem), defeated.
  • 1871: David Stanton, elected, but died before taking office.
  • 1888 May 21: A. Wilson Norris, died in office.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Charles A. Snyder (Rep & Bull Moose), elected; James B. Murrin (Dem), defeated; Walter V. Tyler (Socialist), defeated; William Repp (Prohibition), defeated; William G. Wright (Single Tax), defeated; Herman Spittal (Industrial), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Samuel S. Lewis (Rep), elected; Arthur McKean (Dem), defeated; Charles T. Schenck (Socialist), defeated; A. P. Hutchison (Prohibition), defeated; Patrick McHale (Labor), defeated; Jannette Reynolds Dix (Single Tax), defeated.
  • 1932 Apr 26: Wilson G. Sarig (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1932 Apr 26: Frank E. Baldwin (Rep), nominated; Ralph E. Flinn (Rep), defeated in primary; Frank P. B. Thompson (Rep), defeated in primary; Frank M. Clemens (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1932 Apr 26: Thomas H. Hamilton (Prohibition), nominated unopposed.
  • 1932 Apr 26: Nellie Lithgow Chew (Socialist), nominated unopposed.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Frank E. Baldwin (Rep & Liberal), elected; Wilson G. Sarig (Dem), defeated; Nellie Lithgow Chew (Socialist), defeated; Thomas H. Hamilton (Prohibition), defeated; William Terry (Communist), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Warren R. Roberts (Dem), elected; E. Arthur Sweeney (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956 Apr 24: Francis R. Smith (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1956 Apr 24: Charles C. Smith (Rep), nominated; Anna Afton (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Charles C. Smith (Rep), elected; Francis R. Smith (Dem), defeated; Frank Knotek (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1960 Apr 26: Thomas Z. Minehart (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1960 Apr 26: Robert F. Kent (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1960 Nov 8: Thomas Z. Minehart (Dem), elected; Robert F. Kent (Rep), defeated; George S. Taylor (Socialist Labor), defeated; Arthur J. Felberbaum (Workers), defeated.
  • 1964 Apr 28: Grace M. Sloan (Dem), nominated; Samuel G. Neff (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1964 Apr 28: W. Stuart Helm (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Grace M. Sloan (Dem), elected; W. Stuart Helm (Rep), elected; Arla A. Albaugh (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: Robert P. Casey (Dem), elected; Warner Depuy (Rep), defeated; William Ellison (Constitutional), defeated; Paul Ferguson (Socialist Labor), defeated; Frederick W. Stanton (Militant Workers), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: Al Benedict (Dem), elected; James W. Knepper, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Darcy G. Richardson (Consumer), defeated; Brian Sayago (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Don Bailey (Dem), elected.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Don Bailey (Dem), defeated.
  • 1992 Apr 28: Don Bailey (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1992 Nov 3: James N. Clymer (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1996: Bob Casey, Jr., elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/audgen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]