The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pennsylvania: State Attorneys General

Pennsylvania State Attorneys General, 1777-2011 (May be incomplete!)
Jonathan Dickinson Sergeant 1777-80 William Bradford 1780-91 Jared Ingersoll 1791-1800 Joseph B. McKean 1800-08 Mahlon Dickerson 1808-09 Walter Franklin 1809-11 Richard Rush 1811 Jared Ingersoll 1811-16 Amos Ellmaker 1816-19 Thomas Sergeant 1819-20 Thomas Elder 1820-23 Frederick Smith 1823-28 Calvin Blythe 1828 Amos Ellmaker 1828-29 Philip S. Markley 1829-30 Samuel Douglass 1830-33 Ellis Lewis 1833 George M. Dallas 1833-35 James Todd 1835-38 William B. Reed 1838-39 Ovid F. Johnson 1839-45 John K. Kane 1845-46 John M. Read 1846 Benjamin Champneys 1846-48 James Cooper 1848 Cornelius Darragh 1849-51 Thomas E. Franklin 1851-52 James Campbell 1852-53 Francis W. Hughes 1853-55 Thomas E. Franklin 1855-58 John C. Knox 1858-61 Samuel A. Purviance 1861 William M. Meredith 1861-67 Benjamin Harris Brewster 1867-69 F. Carroll Brewster 1869-73 Samuel E. Dimmick 1873-75 George Lear 1875-79 Henry W. Palmer 1879-83 Lewis C. Cassidy 1883-87 William S. Kirkpatrick 1887-91 W. U. Hensel 1891-95 Henry C. McCormick 1895-99 John P. Elkin 1899-1903 Hampton L. Carson 1903-07 Moses Hampton Todd 1907 John C. Bell 1911-15 Francis S. Brown 1915-19 William I. Schaffer 1919-21 George E. Alter 1920-23 George W. Woodruff 1923-27 Thomas J. Baldrige 1927-29 Cyrus E. Woods 1929-30 William A. Schnader 1930-35 Charles J. Margiotti 1935-38 Guy K. Bard 1938-39 Claude T. Reno 1939 James H. Duff 1943-47 Thomas McKeen Chidsey 1947-50 Robert E. Woodside 1951-53 Herbert B. Cohen 1955-57 Walter E. Alessandroni 1963-66 William C. Sennett 1967-70 Fred Speaker 1970-71 J. Shane Creamer 1971-73 Harvey Bartle III 1980-81 Tom Corbett 1995-97 Tom Corbett 2005-11

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1848 Dec 30: James Cooper, resigned.
  • 1853 Mar 8: James Campbell, resigned.
  • 1869 Oct 25: Benjamin Harris Brewster, resigned.
  • 1875: Samuel E. Dimmick, died in office.
  • 1939 Jan 18: Claude T. Reno, appointed.
  • 1953 Sep 30: Robert E. Woodside, resigned.
  • 1980 Nov 4: LeRoy S. Zimmerman (Rep), elected; Michael A. O'Pake (Dem), defeated; Richard D. Fuerle (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1984: Allen E. Ertel, defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Ernie D. Preate, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Ernie D. Preate, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1996 Apr 23: D. Michael Fisher (Rep), nominated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: D. Michael Fisher (Rep), elected.
  • 2000 Nov 7: D. Michael Fisher (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]