The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Oklahoma

U.S. District Judges for Oklahoma, 1940-74 (may be incomplete!)
Bower Slack Broaddus 1940-49 Luther Bohanon 1961-74

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1949 Dec 10: Bower Slack Broaddus, died in office.
  • 1974 Aug 2: Luther Bohanon, took senior status.

    U.S. District Judges for the Eastern District of Oklahoma, 1907-2003 (may be incomplete!)
    Ralph E. Campbell 1907-18 Robert L. Williams 1919-37 Franklin E. Kennamer 1924-25 Alfred P. Murrah 1937-40 Eugene Rice 1937-63 Frederick Alvin Daugherty 1961-82 Edwin Langley 1965-73 Joseph Wilson Morris 1974-78 Harold Dale Cook 1974-92 Frank Howell Seay 1979-2003 Billy Michael Burrage 1994-2001

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1918 Aug 31: Ralph E. Campbell, resigned.
  • 1963 Dec 1: Eugene Rice, took senior status.
  • 1973 Sep 12: Edwin Langley, died in office.
  • 1978 Jul 31: Joseph Wilson Morris, resigned.
  • 1982 Jan 12: Frederick Alvin Daugherty, took senior status.
  • 1992 Jan 1: Harold Dale Cook, took senior status.
  • 2001 Mar 1: Billy Michael Burrage, resigned.
  • 2003 Sep 25: Frank Howell Seay, took senior status.

    U.S. District Judges for the Northern District of Oklahoma, 1925-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    Franklin E. Kennamer 1925-40 Alfred P. Murrah 1937-40 Royce H. Savage 1940-61 Frederick Alvin Daugherty 1961-82 Allen Edward Barrow 1962-79 Harold Dale Cook 1974-92 Thomas Rutherford Brett 1979-96 James O. Ellison 1979-94 Billy Michael Burrage 1994-2001 Claire Eagan 2001- John Edward Dowdell 2012-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1940 May 31: Franklin E. Kennamer, took senior status.
  • 1961 Oct 31: Royce H. Savage, resigned.
  • 1979 Feb 26: Allen Edward Barrow, died in office.
  • 1982 Jan 12: Frederick Alvin Daugherty, took senior status.
  • 1992 Jan 1: Harold Dale Cook, took senior status.
  • 1994 Nov 7: James O. Ellison, took senior status.
  • 1996 Oct 3: Thomas Rutherford Brett, took senior status.
  • 2001 Mar 1: Billy Michael Burrage, resigned.

    U.S. District Judges for the Western District of Oklahoma, 1907-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    John Hazelton Cotteral 1907-28 Alfred P. Murrah 1937-40 Stephen Sanders Chandler, Jr. 1943-75 Ross Rizley 1956-69 Frederick Alvin Daugherty 1961-82 Luther Boyd Eubanks 1965-86 Harold Dale Cook 1974-92 Lee Roy West 1979-94 Wayne Edward Alley 1985-99 Robin J. Cauthron 1991-2015 Timothy D. Leonard 1992-94 Billy Michael Burrage 1994-2001 Vicki Miles-LaGrange 1994- Timothy D. DeGiusti 2007-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1969 Mar 4: Ross Rizley, died in office.
  • 1975 Oct 20: Stephen Sanders Chandler, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1982 Jan 12: Frederick Alvin Daugherty, took senior status.
  • 1986 Jun 30: Luther Boyd Eubanks, took senior status.
  • 1992 Jan 1: Harold Dale Cook, took senior status.
  • 1994 Nov 26: Lee Roy West, took senior status.
  • 1999 May 16: Wayne Edward Alley, took senior status.
  • 2001 Mar 1: Billy Michael Burrage, resigned.
  • 2015 Jul 14: Robin J. Cauthron, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OK/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]