The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oklahoma: Governors

Governors of Oklahoma, 1907-2018 (May be incomplete!)
Charles N. Haskell 1907-11 Lee Cruce 1911-15 Robert L. Williams 1915-19 James Brooks Ayers Robertson 1919-23 Jack C. Walton 1923 Martin E. Trapp 1923-27 Henry S. Johnston 1927-29 William J. Holloway 1929-31 William H. Murray 1931-35 Ernest W. Marland 1935-39 Leon C. Phillips 1939-43 Robert S. Kerr 1943-47 Roy J. Turner 1947-51 Johnston Murray 1951-55 Raymond Gary 1955-59 J. Howard Edmondson 1959-63 George Nigh 1963 Henry Bellmon 1963-67 Dewey F. Bartlett 1967-71 David Hall 1971-75 David L. Boren 1975-79 George Nigh 1979-87 Henry Bellmon 1987-91 David Walters 1991-95 Francis A. Keating 1995- Brad Henry 2003- Mary Fallin 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1907 Sep 17: Charles N. Haskell (Dem), elected; Frank Frantz (Rep), defeated; C. C. Ross (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1910 Nov 8: Lee Cruce (Dem), elected; J. W. McNeal (Rep), defeated; J. T. Cumbie (Socialist), defeated; George E. Rouch (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1914 Nov 3: Robert L. Williams (Dem), elected; John Fields (Rep), defeated; Fred Holt (Socialist), defeated; John P. Hickam (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1918: William H. Murray (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1918: Ulysses S. Stone (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1918 Nov 5: James Brooks Ayers Robertson (Dem), elected; Horace G. McKeever (Rep), defeated; Patrick S. Nagle (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Jack C. Walton (Dem), elected; John Fields (Rep), defeated; Orville E. Enfield (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Henry S. Johnston (Dem), elected; Omer K. Benedict (Rep), defeated; John Franning (Farmer-Labor), defeated; E. H. H. Gates (Socialist), defeated; Ed Boyle (Ind), defeated.
  • 1930: Leroy Kershaw (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1930 Nov 4: William H. Murray (Dem), elected; Ira A. Hill (Rep), defeated; B. G. Bingham (Ind), defeated; John Franning (Ind), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Ernest W. Marland (Dem), elected; William B. Pine (Rep), defeated; S. P. Green (Socialist), defeated; Francis M. Simpson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1938: William H. Murray (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Leon C. Phillips (Dem), elected; Ross Rizley (Rep), defeated; John W. Lanhorn (Prohibition), defeated; John Franning (Ind), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Robert S. Kerr (Dem), elected; William J. Otjen (Rep), defeated; Edward W. Fickinger (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Roy J. Turner (Dem), elected; Olney F. Flynn (Rep), defeated; Mickey Harrell (Ind), defeated; R. M. Funk (Ind), defeated; Bruno Miller (Ind), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Johnston Murray (Dem), elected; Jo D. Ferguson (Rep), defeated; Mickey Harrell (Ind), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Raymond Gary (Dem), elected; Reuben K. Sparks (Rep), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: J. Howard Edmondson (Dem), elected; Phil Ferguson (Rep), defeated; D. A. 'Jelly' Bryce (Ind), defeated.
  • 1962: Fred R. Harris (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1962 Nov 6: Henry Bellmon (Rep), elected; William P. Atkinson (Dem), defeated; L. Richard Zavitz (Ind), defeated.
  • 1966: David Hall (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Dewey F. Bartlett (Rep), elected; Preston J. Moore (Dem), defeated; H. E. Bingham (Ind), defeated.
  • 1970 Sep 16: Bryce Baggett (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1970 Nov 3: David Hall (Dem), elected; Dewey F. Bartlett (Rep), defeated; Revel Little (American), defeated.
  • 1974: David Hall (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1974 Nov 5: David L. Boren (Dem), elected; James M. Inhofe (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990: Wes Watkins (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1994: Wes Watkins (Dem), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Brad Henry (Dem), elected; Steve Largent (Rep), defeated; Gary L. Richardson, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OK/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]