The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pittsburg County

Pittsburg County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Pittsburg County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Pittsburg County (incomplete!): Micah Thompson, as of 2014

Pittsburg County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: P. B. Cole — E. P. Hill
   1916, St. Louis: J. Roy Williams
   1928, Houston: Ed Dunham
   1940, Chicago: R. L. 'Dick' Crutcher
   1944, Chicago: W. A. Lackey
   1948, Philadelphia: Tom Martin
   1952, Chicago: Carl Albert — William Cornish — Elizabeth Whetsel
   1956, Chicago: George Nigh — Kirksey M. Nix
   1964, Atlantic City: Carl Albert
   1968, Chicago: Carl Albert
   1976, New York: Carl Albert — Doyle Crafts — Ann Haney
   1992, New York: Carl Albert
   1996, Chicago: Carl Albert — Elaine Miller — Christine Minyard
   2004, Boston: Cerita Morley
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: E. J. Fannin — Joseph R. Foltz — I. P. Grady
   1900, Philadelphia: E. J. Fannin
   1904, Chicago: William Busby
   1912, Chicago: William Butler
   1916, Chicago: R. H. Matthews
   1920, Chicago: Mrs. William Burkhart
   1924, Cleveland: R. C. Nelson
   1928, Kansas City: John W. Rooks
   1936, Cleveland: John L. Fuller
   1944, Chicago: E. T. Richards
   1952, Chicago: Irene Scott
   1956, San Francisco: E. T. Richards — Mrs. Kermit Richards
   1960, Chicago: Irene Scott — Chapin Wallace
   2008, St. Paul: Paul Clayton
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OK/PI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]