The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Muskogee County

Muskogee County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Muskogee County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Muskogee County (incomplete!): Jerald Huffer, as of 2014

Muskogee County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Fred P. Branson — S. V. O'Hare — T. H. Owen — J. W. Zevely
   1916, St. Louis: S. M. Rutherford — J. W. Zevely
   1924, New York: W. M. Gulager — Robert L. Owen — F. L. Walton
   1928, Houston: Charles N. Haskell — R. M. Mountcastle
   1940, Chicago: W. J. Crump
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. Morris Finklea — Mrs. Alex Todd
   1948, Philadelphia: Fred P. Branson — Carl Frix — Kathleen Rooney McInerney
   1952, Chicago: Kathleen McInerney Gibson — W. H. Harrower — Noble Stewart
   1956, Chicago: Kathleen Rooney McInerney
   1976, New York: John Hudson — J. J. Simmons, Jr.
   1980, New York: Sandy Garrett — Henryetta Hildabrand — James Roy Johnson — Avalon Reece — Ruby Spaulding — D. K. Swon
   1996, Chicago: Ernie Gilder — Allan E. Harder — Gene Wallace
   2004, Boston: Sue Johnson — Jeff Potts
   2008, Denver: Dan Boren — Joyce Rock — Eddie Sacks — Ross Staggs
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: W. F. Seaver
   1900, Philadelphia: A. G. W. Sango
   1904, Chicago: Charles W. Raymond
   1912, Chicago: Harry Levy
   1916, Chicago: L. G. Disney
   1920, Chicago: L. G. Disney — Ferd P. Snider
   1924, Cleveland: Leroy Kershaw — George Seibold
   1928, Kansas City: Mrs. L. G. Disney — Sam Hawley
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. D. G. Albright — J. Fred Darby
   1936, Cleveland: Mack Kelly
   1940, Philadelphia: Charles Chandler — Mrs. Mack Kelly — Anne Stewart — William N. Stranahan
   1944, Chicago: Tams Bixby, Jr. — J. Fred Darby — Ferd P. Snider
   1948, Philadelphia: W. R. Banker — E. C. Simmons
   1960, Chicago: Charles Kelly
   2004, New York: Tom M. Montgomery
   2008, St. Paul: John Tyler Hammons — Tom M. Montgomery
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OK/MU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]