The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ohio: Treasurers of State

Ohio Treasurers of State, 1803-2002 (May be incomplete!)
William McFarland 1803-16 Hiram M. Curry 1816-20 Samuel Sullivan 1820-23 Henry Brown 1823-35 Joseph Whitehill 1835-47 Albert A. Bliss 1847-52 John G. Breslin 1852-56 William H. Gibson 1856-57 Alfred Parish Stone 1857-62 G. Volney Dorsey 1862-65 William Hooper 1865-66 S. S. Warner 1866-72 Isaac Welsh 1872-75 Leroy Welsh 1875-76 John M. Millikin 1876-78 Anthony Howells 1878-80 Joseph Turney 1880-84 Peter Brady 1884-86 John C. Brown 1886-92 William T. Cope 1892-96 Samuel B. Campbell 1896-1900 Isaac B. Cameron 1900-04 William S. McKinnon 1904-08 Charles C. Green 1908-09 David S. Creamer 1909-13 John P. Brennan 1913-15 Rudolph W. Archer 1915-17 Chester E. Bryan 1917-19 Rudolph W. Archer 1919-23 Harry S. Day 1923-27 Bert B. Buckley 1927-29 H. Ross Ake 1929-30 Edwin A. Todd 1930-31 Harry S. Day 1931-37 Clarence H. Knisley 1937-39 Don H. Ebright 1939-51 Roger W. Tracy 1951-59 Joseph T. Ferguson 1959-63 John D. Herbert 1963-71 Gertrude Donahey 1971-83 Mary Ellen Withrow 1983-94 Ken Blackwell 1994-99 Joseph T. Deters 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1861: G. Volney Dorsey (Union), elected.
  • 1863: G. Volney Dorsey (Rep), elected.
  • 1870: Stephen Buhrer (Dem), defeated.
  • 1875 Nov 20: Isaac Welsh, died in office.
  • 1897 Nov 2: Samuel B. Campbell (Rep), elected; James F. Wilson (Dem), defeated; Samuel Wells (Prohibition), defeated; Francis Marion Morris (People's), defeated; Edward Larsen (Socialist Labor), defeated; Thornton A. Rodefer (Liberty), defeated; Samuel Stevens (Gold Democratic), defeated; B. W. Maxwell (Negro Protective), defeated.
  • 1899: Isaac B. Cameron (Rep), elected.
  • 1901: Isaac B. Cameron (Rep), elected.
  • 1910: C. E. Ruthenberg (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1924 Aug 12: Hamilton G. DeWeese (Dem), nominated; E. E. Denune (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1924 Aug 12: Harry S. Day (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Harry S. Day (Rep), elected; George Cook (Commonwealth Land), defeated; William Geminden (Socialist Labor), defeated; Hamilton G. DeWeese (Dem), defeated.
  • 1926 Aug 10: John W. Pattison (Dem), nominated; Hamilton G. DeWeese (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Aug 10: Bert B. Buckley (Rep), nominated; Guy C. Davis (Rep), defeated in primary; S. E. Forney (Rep), defeated in primary; Calvin P. Godfrey (Rep), defeated in primary; M. Herbert Hoover (Rep), defeated in primary; Edward Kellison (Rep), defeated in primary; Carl R. Nelson (Rep), defeated in primary; Walter J. Smith (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Bert B. Buckley (Rep), elected; John W. Pattison (Dem), defeated; Jacob H. Ojala (Socialist), defeated; John Rowe (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1928 Aug 14: Fred M. Bushnell (Dem), nominated; James Patrick Mangan (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Aug 14: Bert B. Buckley (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Bert B. Buckley (Rep), elected; Fred M. Bushnell (Dem), defeated; George Grummitt (Socialist Labor), defeated; Joseph E. Walton (Prohibition), defeated; Sarah Vervin (Workers Communist), defeated; Sidney Yellen (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1938 Aug 9: Clarence H. Knisley (Dem), nominated; John J. Kennedy (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Aug 9: Don H. Ebright (Rep), nominated; M. Herbert Hoover (Rep), defeated in primary; George L. Baker (Rep), defeated in primary; Arthur K. Williams (Rep), defeated in primary; David J. Lewis (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Don H. Ebright (Rep), elected; Clarence H. Knisley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1982: Mary Ellen Withrow (Dem), elected.
  • 1986: Mary Ellen Withrow (Dem), elected.
  • 1990: Mary Ellen Withrow (Dem), elected.
  • 1998: Joseph T. Deters (Rep), elected.
  • 2002: Joseph T. Deters (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]