The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ohio: Secretaries of State

Ohio Secretaries of State, 1803-2007 (May be incomplete!)
William Creighton, Jr. 1803-08 Jeremiah McLene 1808-31 Moses H. Kirby 1831-35 Benjamin B. Hinkson 1835-36 Carter B. Harlan 1836-40 William Trevitt 1840-41 John Sloane 1841-44 Samuel Galloway 1844-50 Henry W. King 1850-52 William Trevitt 1852-56 James H. Baker 1856-58 Addison P. Russell 1858-62 Benjamin R. Cowen 1862 Wilson S. Kennon 1862-63 William W. Armstrong 1863-65 William H. Smith 1865-68 John Russell 1868-69 Isaac R. Sherwood 1869-73 Allen T. Wikoff 1873-75 William Bell, Jr. 1875-77 Milton Barnes 1877-81 Charles Townsend 1881-83 James W. Newman 1883-85 James S. Robinson 1885-89 Daniel J. Ryan 1889-91 Christian L. Poorman 1891-93 Samuel M. Taylor 1893-97 Charles Kinney 1897-1901 Lewis C. Laylin 1901-07 Carmi Thompson 1907-11 Charles H. Graves 1911-15 Charles Q. Hildebrant 1915-17 William D. Fulton 1917-19 Harvey C. Smith 1919-23 Thad H. Brown 1923-27 Clarence J. Brown 1927-33 George S. Myers 1933 William J. Kennedy 1936-39 Earl Griffith 1939-40 George M. Neffiner 1940-41 John E. Sweeney 1941-43 Edward J. Hummel 1943-49 Charles F. Sweeney 1949-51 Ted W. Brown 1951-79 Anthony J. Celebrezze, Jr. 1979-83 Sherrod Brown 1983-91 Bob Taft 1991-99 Ken Blackwell 1999-2007

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1896 Nov 3: Charles Kinney (Rep), elected; Chilton A. White (Dem), defeated; Samuel H. Rockhill (Prohibition), defeated; Wesley C. Bates (National), defeated; Daniel W. Wallace (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1900: Lewis C. Laylin (Rep), elected.
  • 1902: Herbert Seely Bigelow (Dem), defeated; Max S. Hayes (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1924 Aug 12: John Henry Newman (Dem), nominated; Lester C. Riddle (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1924 Aug 12: Thad H. Brown (Rep), nominated; Edward J. Hummel (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Jasper Shuman (Commonwealth Land), defeated; Martin Phalen (Socialist Labor), defeated; John Henry Newman (Dem), defeated; Thad H. Brown (Rep), elected.
  • 1926 Aug 10: Stephen M. Young (Dem), nominated; Newt Bronson (Dem), defeated in primary; Frank S. Krause (Dem), defeated in primary; John Henry Newman (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Aug 10: Clarence J. Brown (Rep), nominated; Joseph E. Cross (Rep), defeated in primary; Edward J. Hummel (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Clarence J. Brown (Rep), elected; Stephen M. Young (Dem), defeated; Harry Schreiber (Socialist), defeated; Walter Freeman (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1928 Aug 14: Carl W. Smith (Dem), nominated; John Henry Newman (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Aug 14: Clarence J. Brown (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Clarence J. Brown (Rep), elected; Carl W. Smith (Dem), defeated; Edna Hastings (Socialist), defeated; R. H. Richardson (Socialist Labor), defeated; Fred W. Barrett (Prohibition), defeated; Bruce T. Smith (Workers Communist), defeated.
  • 1938 Aug 9: William J. Kennedy (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1938 Aug 9: Earl Griffith (Rep), nominated; George E. Turner (Rep), defeated in primary; Edward J. Hummel (Rep), defeated in primary; Justin L. McCarthy (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Earl Griffith (Rep), elected; William J. Kennedy (Dem), defeated.
  • 1990: Bob Taft (Rep), elected.
  • 1994: Bob Taft (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]