The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ohio: 1933 Convention to Ratify the 21st Amendment

Delegates to Convention to Ratify the 21st Amendment, 1933 (May be incomplete!)
Margaret C. Bannon 1933 Thomas E. Bateman 1933 C. V. Beatty 1933 Paul B. Belden 1933 J. Farnley Bonnell 1933 Henry G. Brunner 1933 Robert J. Bulkley 1933 S. P. Bush 1933 H. P. Carruth 1933 T. A. Conway 1933 Zora S. Cummings 1933 S. A. Cunningham 1933 Matthew R. Denver 1933 Frank Detrick 1933 Thomas J. Donnelly 1933 Joseph H. Dowling 1933 Hugh A. Galt 1933 Frank F. Gentsch 1933 Harry J. Gilligan 1933 Willis D. Gradison 1933 Charles H. Gross 1933 E. H. Hanefeld 1933 Joseph C. Heinlein 1933 Louis M. Hirshson 1933 Genevieve G. Hoadly 1933 Maybel M. Huntington 1933 Keith Lawrence 1933 Arthur L. Limbach 1933 John Malick 1933 Philip R. Mather 1933 Charles F. Michael 1933 John M. Miller 1933 Harold G. Mosier 1933 Laurence H. Norton 1933 William O'Neil 1933 Carl F. Orth 1933 John W. Pattison 1933 Atlee Pomerene 1933 Mira Steele Printz 1933 W. H. Purcell 1933 Mrs. Richard Rector 1933 William Hunt Robbins 1933 Alexander B. Roe 1933 A. P. Rogge 1933 Grace Chapman Rose 1933 John E. Sater 1933 T. R. Schoonover 1933 Sidney G. Stricker 1933 Lockwood Thompson 1933 W. S. Whittaker 1933 James P. Wilson 1933 William W. Wood III 1933

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Nov 7: William W. Wood III (Wet), elected; Robert J. Bulkley (Wet), elected; Margaret C. Bannon (Wet), elected; C. V. Beatty (Wet), elected; Paul B. Belden (Wet), elected; J. Farnley Bonnell (Wet), elected; Henry G. Brunner (Wet), elected; S. P. Bush (Wet), elected; H. P. Carruth (Wet), elected; T. A. Conway (Wet), elected; Zora S. Cummings (Wet), elected; S. A. Cunningham (Wet), elected; Frank Detrick (Wet), elected; Joseph H. Dowling (Wet), elected; Hugh A. Galt (Wet), elected; Frank F. Gentsch (Wet), elected; Willis D. Gradison (Wet), elected; Charles H. Gross (Wet), elected; E. H. Hanefeld (Wet), elected; Louis M. Hirshson (Wet), elected; Maybel M. Huntington (Wet), elected; Keith Lawrence (Wet), elected; Arthur L. Limbach (Wet), elected; Philip R. Mather (Wet), elected; Josephine McGowan (Wet), elected, but died before taking office; Charles F. Michael (Wet), elected; John M. Miller (Wet), elected; Harold G. Mosier (Wet), elected; Laurence H. Norton (Wet), elected; William O'Neil (Wet), elected; Carl F. Orth (Wet), elected; John W. Pattison (Wet), elected; Mira Steele Printz (Wet), elected; W. H. Purcell (Wet), elected; William Hunt Robbins (Wet), elected; Alexander B. Roe (Wet), elected; A. P. Rogge (Wet), elected; Grace Chapman Rose (Wet), elected; T. R. Schoonover (Wet), elected; Sidney G. Stricker (Wet), elected; Lockwood Thompson (Wet), elected; W. S. Whittaker (Wet), elected; James P. Wilson (Wet), elected; Joseph C. Heinlein (Wet), elected; Harry McLaughlin (Wet), elected, but died before taking office; Matthew R. Denver (Wet), elected; John Malick (Wet), elected; Atlee Pomerene (Wet), elected; Joseph N. Ackerman (Wet), elected, but did not serve; Genevieve G. Hoadly (Wet), elected; Harry J. Gilligan (Wet), elected; John E. Sater (Wet), elected; Allie D. Willis (Dry), defeated; Dow Aikin (Dry), defeated; Arthur T. Arnold (Dry), defeated; Charles A. Bame (Dry), defeated; Walter J. Bankes (Dry), defeated; H. G. Bates (Dry), defeated; John T. Breece (Dry), defeated; John H. Clark (Dry), defeated; A. R. Clippinger (Dry), defeated; Dahl B. Cooper (Dry), defeated; J. Harry Cotton (Dry), defeated; Michael J. Cummins (Dry), defeated; James W. Deffenbaugh (Dry), defeated; W. D. Ditmars (Dry), defeated; James S. Frame (Dry), defeated; John C. Fuhr (Dry), defeated; Ernest Hall (Dry), defeated; Elizabeth Haymaker (Dry), defeated; A. L. Hoover (Dry), defeated; H. T. Houf (Dry), defeated; W. H. Hubbell (Dry), defeated; Silas E. Hurin (Dry), defeated; Minnie G. Jamison (Dry), defeated; J. W. Johnson (Dry), defeated; W. F. Kirk (Dry), defeated; C. V. Leach (Dry), defeated; Glenn Massman (Dry), defeated; Elmer McClain (Dry), defeated; Harry B. McConnell (Dry), defeated; Henry P. Miller (Dry), defeated; Wade E. Miller (Dry), defeated; Levi Minnich (Dry), defeated; Osborne Mitchell (Dry), defeated; Robert N. Montgomery (Dry), defeated; Elbert W. Moore (Dry), defeated; Lawrence R. Pugh (Dry), defeated; Florence D. Richard (Dry), defeated; M. C. Robinson (Dry), defeated; Viola D. Romans (Dry), defeated; Eva Rosenberger (Dry), defeated; Claron L. Shafer (Dry), defeated; William H. Sheldon (Dry), defeated; Della M. Slagle (Dry), defeated; H. Lester Smith (Dry), defeated; Edmund D. Soper (Dry), defeated; Edward Russel Stafford (Dry), defeated; A. R. Webber (Dry), defeated; John Clark Williams (Dry), defeated; John G. Worley (Dry), defeated; Harvey O. Yoder (Dry), defeated; Howard Hyde Russell (Dry), defeated; Pearl E. Selby (Dry), defeated.
  • 1933 Dec 5: Thomas J. Donnelly, appointed; Mrs. Richard Rector, appointed; Thomas E. Bateman, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/cr21.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]