The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ohio: Auditors of State

Ohio Auditors of State, 1803-2007 (May be incomplete!)
Thomas Gibson 1803-08 Benjamin Hough 1808-15 Ralph Osborn 1815-33 John A. Bryan 1833-39 John Brough 1839-45 John Woods 1845-52 William Duane Morgan 1852-56 Francis M. Wright 1856-60 Robert W. Tayler 1860-63 Oviatt Cole 1863-64 James H. Goodman 1864-72 James Williams 1872-80 John F. Oglevee 1880-84 Emil Kieswetter 1884-88 Ebenezer W. Poe 1888-96 Walter D. Guilbert 1896-1909 Edward M. Fullington 1909-13 A. Vic Donahey 1913-21 Joseph T. Tracy 1921-37 Joseph T. Ferguson 1937-53 James A. Rhodes 1953-63 Roger W. Tracy 1963-64 Chester W. Goble 1964-65 Roger Cloud 1965-66 Archer E. Reilly 1966-67 Roger Cloud 1967-71 Joseph T. Ferguson 1971-75 Thomas E. Ferguson 1975-95 James M. Petro 1995-2003 Betty Montgomery 2003-07 Mary Taylor 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1857: G. Volney Dorsey (Dem), defeated.
  • 1859: G. Volney Dorsey (Dem), defeated.
  • 1895: Walter D. Guilbert (Rep), elected.
  • 1899: Walter D. Guilbert (Rep), elected.
  • 1924 Aug 12: Daniel E. Butler (Dem), nominated; Floyd Atwill (Dem), defeated in primary; J. H. Kauffman (Dem), defeated in primary; Harry E. McCollister (Dem), defeated in primary; H. Sage Valentine (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1924 Aug 12: Joseph T. Tracy (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Joseph T. Tracy (Rep), elected; Daniel E. Butler (Dem), defeated; Herbert R. Gill (Commonwealth Land), defeated; Fred Brown (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1928 Aug 14: Daniel E. Butler (Dem), nominated; Alva L. Coddington (Dem), defeated in primary; Joseph T. Ferguson (Dem), defeated in primary; Charles H. Hubbell (Dem), defeated in primary; J. H. Kauffman (Dem), defeated in primary; Aaron Moul (Dem), defeated in primary; Lester C. Riddle (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Aug 14: Joseph T. Tracy (Rep), nominated; Stanley Cherrington (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Joseph T. Tracy (Rep), elected; Frank Kalcec (Socialist Labor), defeated; James T. Orr (Prohibition), defeated; Joseph Coope (Workers Communist), defeated; Daniel E. Butler (Dem), defeated.
  • 1952: Joseph T. Ferguson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956: James A. Rhodes (Rep), elected.
  • 1960: James A. Rhodes (Rep), elected.
  • 1994: James M. Petro (Rep), elected.
  • 2002: Betty Montgomery (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/aud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]