The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wayne County

Wayne County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Wayne County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Wayne County: [none currently in database]

Wayne County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: J. P. Jeffreys — J. A. Marchand
   1892, Chicago: Lewis P. Ohliger
   1916, St. Louis: A. D. Metz
   1924, New York: Durbin Metz
   1928, Houston: Mrs. R. B. Critchfield — Edwin S. Wertz
   1940, Chicago: Charles W. Hochstetler — Dean H. Weimer
   1944, Chicago: Emmett D. Miller
   1948, Philadelphia: Emmett D. Miller
   1956, Chicago: W. Harper Annat — Raymond O. Morgan
   1960, Los Angeles: John McSweeney — Raymond O. Morgan
   1964, Atlantic City: Jonah Howells, Jr. — John McSweeney
   1972, Miami Beach: Frank W. Whitmore
   1996, Chicago: Donald Lance, Jr.
   2004, Boston: Julia Fishelson — Marcellinus Ludowese — Lupe Williams
   2008, Denver: Sandy Cleary — Julia Fishelson — Charles Kammer
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: G. U. Harn
   1868, Chicago: Addison S. McClure
   1876, Cincinnati: Addison S. McClure
   1904, Chicago: H. B. Bertolette — Martin L. Smyser
   1908, Chicago: Harry Bartollette
   1912, Chicago: Benjamin F. Fair
   1916, Chicago: William R. Curry
   1920, Chicago: C. F. Kraft
   1924, Cleveland: William L. Long
   1928, Kansas City: D. J. Foss
   1932, Chicago: D. J. Foss
   1936, Cleveland: Horace M. Doyle
   1940, Philadelphia: Roy Martin
   1944, Chicago: Daniel C. Funk
   1948, Philadelphia: Marion F. Graven
   1956, San Francisco: Joe H. Bindley
   1960, Chicago: Leo R. Kindsvatter
   1964, San Francisco: J. Garber Drushal
   1972, Miami Beach: Thomas J. Landes
   2004, New York: Dorothy Ginther
   2008, St. Paul: Jim Carmichael — Dorothy Ginther
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Benjamin Bentley
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/WN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]