The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Belmont County

Belmont County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Belmont County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Belmont County: [none currently in database]

Belmont County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: W. Eaton
   1864, Chicago: J. H. Collins
   1904, St. Louis: William B. Francis
   1916, St. Louis: W. S. Barton
   1924, New York: John T. Flynn
   1928, Houston: A. M. Brown
   1940, Chicago: A. C. Peters — Esther F. Pinsky
   1944, Chicago: A. A. Davis
   1948, Philadelphia: Kenneth G. Cooper
   1952, Chicago: Sally Sue Witten
   1956, Chicago: John P. Frazier — Esther F. Pinsky — Frank A. Vannelle
   1960, Los Angeles: Wayne L. Hays — Frank A. Vannelle
   1964, Atlantic City: Wayne L. Hays — A. G. Lancione — Esther F. Pinsky — Frank A. Vannelle
   1972, Miami Beach: John R. DeBonis — A. G. Lancione — Frank A. Vannelle
   1996, Chicago: Annie Glenn — Mary B. Ross
   2004, Boston: Rosalie Pappano
   2008, Denver: Charlie Wilson
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: E. Ellis — M. Pennington
   1860, Chicago: William Wallace
   1868, Chicago: Benjamin R. Cowen
   1896, St. Louis: William A. Hunt
   1904, Chicago: G. A. Colpritts
   1908, Chicago: James F. Anderson — George E. Bradfield
   1912, Chicago: Cook Danford
   1916, Chicago: Joseph C. Heinlein
   1920, Chicago: Charles T. Coleman — R. R. Wood
   1924, Cleveland: St. Clair Archer
   1928, Kansas City: H. H. Murphy
   1936, Cleveland: St. Clair Archer
   1940, Philadelphia: St. Clair Archer
   1944, Chicago: Mary E. Hunt — Elizabeth M. Linard
   1952, Chicago: Wilbur Y. Armstrong — Elizabeth M. Linard
   1956, San Francisco: Jessie Negus
   1972, Miami Beach: James Carnes
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Benjamin S. Cowen
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/BE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]