The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New York: Assembly Speakers

Speakers of the New York State Assembly, 1777-1994 (May be incomplete!)
Walter Livingston 1777-79 Evert Bancker 1779-83 David Gelston 1784-85 John Lansing, Jr. 1786 Jacob R. Van Rensselaer 1812-13 Samuel Young 1814-15 Daniel Cruger 1816 David Woods 1816-17 David Woods 1818 Obadiah German 1819 John C. Spencer 1820 Peter Sharpe 1820-21 Samuel B. Romaine 1822 Peter R. Livingston 1823 Richard Goodell 1824 Clarkson Crolius 1825 Samuel Young 1826 Erastus Root 1827-28 Peter Robinson 1829 Erastus Root 1830 George R. Davis 1831 Charles Humphrey 1835-36 Edward Livingston 1837 Luther Bradish 1838 George W. Patterson 1839-40 George R. Davis 1843 Elisha Litchfield 1844 Horatio Seymour 1845 Robert H. Pruyn 1850 Henry J. Raymond 1851 Thomas G. Alvord 1858 Henry J. Raymond 1862 Theophilus C. Callicot 1863 Thomas G. Alvord 1864 George G. Hoskins 1865 Lyman Tremain 1866 Edmund L. Pitts 1867 William Hitchman 1868 Truman G. Younglove 1869 William Hitchman 1870-71 Henry Smith 1872 Alonzo B. Cornell 1873 James W. Husted 1874 Jeremiah McGuire 1875 James W. Husted 1876 George B. Sloan 1877 James W. Husted 1878 Thomas G. Alvord 1879 George H. Sharpe 1880-81 Charles E. Patterson 1882 Alfred C. Chapin 1883 Titus Sheard 1884 George Z. Erwin 1885 James W. Husted 1886-87 Fremont Cole 1888-89 James W. Husted 1890 William F. Sheehan 1891 Robert P. Bush 1892 William Sulzer 1893 Hamilton Fish, Jr. 1895-96 S. Frederick Nixon 1899-1905 James W. Wadsworth, Jr. 1906-10 Daniel D. Frisbie 1911 Edwin A. Merritt, Jr. 1912 Alfred E. Smith 1913 Thaddeus C. Sweet 1914-20 H. Edmund Machold 1921-24 Irwin Steingut 1935 Irving M. Ives 1936 Oswald D. Heck 1937-51 Anthony J. Travia 1968 Moses M. Weinstein 1968 Perry B. Duryea, Jr. 1969-73 Stanley Steingut 1970 Stanley Fink 1979-86 Saul Weprin 1991-94

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Oct 10: S. Frederick Nixon, died in office.
  • 1994 Feb 11: Saul Weprin, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/spkr.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]