The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New York: Secretaries of State

New York Secretaries of State, 1778-1993 (May be incomplete!)
John Morin Scott 1778-84 Lewis Allaire Scott 1784-93 Daniel Hale 1793-1801 Thomas Tillotson 1801-06 Elisha Jenkins 1806-07 Thomas Tillotson 1807-08 Elisha Jenkins 1808-10 Daniel Hale 1810-11 Elisha Jenkins 1811-13 Jacob R. Van Rensselaer 1813-15 Peter B. Porter 1815-16 Robert L. Tillotson 1816-17 Charles D. Cooper 1817-18 John Van Ness Yates 1818-26 Azariah C. Flagg 1826-33 John A. Dix 1833-39 John C. Spencer 1839-42 Samuel Young 1842-45 Nathaniel S. Benton 1845-47 Christopher Morgan 1847-51 Henry S. Randall 1852-53 Elias W. Leavenworth 1854-55 Joel T. Headley 1856-57 Gideon J. Tucker 1858-59 David R. Floyd-Jones 1860-61 Horatio Ballard 1862-63 Chauncey M. Depew 1864-65 Francis C. Barlow 1866-67 Homer A. Nelson 1868-71 G. Hilton Scribner 1872-73 Diedrich Willers, Jr. 1874-75 John Bigelow 1876-77 Allen C. Beach 1878-79 Joseph B. Carr 1880-85 Frederick Cook 1886-89 Frank Rice 1890-93 John Palmer 1894-98 John T. McDonough 1899-1902 John F. O'Brien 1903-06 John S. Whalen 1907-08 Samuel S. Koenig 1909-10 Edward Lazansky 1911-12 Mitchell May 1913-14 Francis M. Hugo 1915-20 John J. Lyons 1921-22 James A. Hamilton 1923-24 Florence E. S. Knapp 1925-27 Robert Moses 1927-28 Edward J. Flynn 1929-39 Michael F. Walsh 1939-42 Thomas J. Curran 1943-55 Caroline K. Simon 1959-63 Mario M. Cuomo 1975-78 Basil Paterson 1979-82 Gail S. Shaffer 1983-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1784 Sep 14: John Morin Scott, died in office.
  • 1863: Chauncey M. Depew (Rep), elected.
  • 1865: Francis C. Barlow (Rep), elected.
  • 1871 Nov 7: G. Hilton Scribner, elected; Diedrich Willers, Jr. (Dem), defeated; Charles C. Leigh, defeated.
  • 1873: Dwight Williams (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1875: John Bigelow (Dem), elected; Frederick W. Seward (Rep), defeated.
  • 1877: John C. Churchill (Rep), defeated.
  • 1877 Nov 6: Henry Hagner (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1879 Nov 4: Alphonso A. Hopkins (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1889: Jesse H. Griffin (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1895: Horatio C. King (Dem), defeated.
  • 1900 Nov 6: John T. McDonough (Rep), elected; John T. Norton (Dem), defeated; Joseph V. Baker (Prohibition), defeated; Joseph H. Sweeney (Socialist Labor), defeated; Philip Jackson (Social Democratic), defeated.
  • 1902: Frank H. Mott (Dem), defeated.
  • 1904 Nov 8: John F. O'Brien (Rep), elected; John Pallace (Dem), defeated; Ed J. Squires (Social Democratic), defeated; James C. Crawford (Prohibition), defeated; Anton Metzler (Socialist Labor), defeated; Orsen L. Drew (People's), defeated.
  • 1908 Nov 3: Samuel S. Koenig (Rep), elected; John S. Whalen (Dem), defeated; Frank H. Stevens (Independence League), defeated; Charles W. Noonan (Socialist), defeated; James C. Crawford (Prohibition), defeated; Matthew Lechner (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1910 Nov 8: Edward Lazansky (Dem), elected; Samuel S. Koenig (Rep), defeated; Thomas P. Scully (Independence League), defeated; Bertha M. Fraser (Socialist), defeated; N. Horace Gillette (Prohibition), defeated; Henry Kuhn (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1912 Nov 5: Mitchell May (Dem), elected; Francis M. Hugo (Rep), defeated; Homer D. Call (Progressive & Independence League), defeated; Carrie W. Allen (Socialist), defeated; Ben D. Wright (Prohibition), defeated; Edmund Moonelis (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1914 Sep 28: Mitchell May (Dem), nominated; Sidney Newborg (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1914 Sep 28: Francis M. Hugo (Rep), nominated; William D. Cunningham (Rep), defeated in primary; Eugene M. Porter (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1914 Sep 28: Sydney W. Stern (Progressive), nominated unopposed.
  • 1914 Nov 3: Francis M. Hugo (Rep), elected; Mitchell May (Dem & Independence League), defeated; Sydney W. Stern (Progressive), defeated; John R. Clements (Prohibition), defeated; Florence Cross Kitchelt (Socialist), defeated; Edmund Moonelis (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1916 Sep 19: Frank M. Stage (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Sep 19: Francis M. Hugo (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Sep 19: Francis M. Hugo (Progressive), nominated; Wendell P. Murray (Progressive), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Francis M. Hugo (Rep & Independence League & Progressive), elected; Frank M. Stage (Dem), defeated; Pauline M. Newman (Socialist), defeated; Neil D. Cranmer (Prohibition), defeated; John Hall (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1918 Sep 3: Franklin E. Bard (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1918 Sep 3: Francis M. Hugo (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1918 Sep 3: Jessie W. Hughan (Socialist), nominated unopposed.
  • 1918 Sep 3: Ella L. McCarthy (Prohibition), nominated unopposed.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Francis M. Hugo (Rep), elected; Franklin E. Bard (Dem), defeated; Jessie W. Hughan (Socialist), defeated; Ella L. McCarthy (Prohibition), defeated; Edmund Moonelis (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1920 Sep 14: Harriet May Mills (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1920 Sep 14: John J. Lyons (Rep), nominated; Robert R. Lawson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1920 Nov 2: John J. Lyons (Rep), elected; Harriet May Mills (Dem), defeated; Charles W. Noonan (Socialist), defeated; Irene B. Taylor (Prohibition), defeated; William H. Auyer (Farmer-Labor), defeated; Mary Phalor (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Florence E. S. Knapp (Rep), elected; James A. Hamilton (Dem), defeated; Frank R. Crosswaith (Socialist), defeated; Lilly Lore (Workers), defeated; Frank Gorney, Jr. (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]