The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of New Rochelle, New York

Mayors of New Rochelle, 1899-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Henry S. Clarke as of 1903-06 George G. Raymond as of 1908-09 Harry E. Colwell 1910-11 Frederick H. Waldorf 1912-14 Edward S. Griffing 1914-18 Frederick H. Waldorf 1918-20 Harry Scott 1920-25 Benjamin B. Badeau 1926-29 Walter G. C. Otto 1930-34 Paul M. Crandell 1934-35 Charles F. Simmons 1935 Harry Scott 1936-39 Stanley W. Church 1940-55 George Vergara 1956-59 Stanley W. Church 1960-63 Stanley W. Church 1970

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1899 Apr 18: Michael J. Dillon (Dem), elected; H. M. Hermer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1907 Nov 5: W. W. Raymond (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Frederick H. Waldorf (Dem), elected; Harry E. Colwell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1913 Nov 4: Edward S. Griffing (Rep), elected; Frank J. Griffin (Dem), defeated; George Watson (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Edward S. Griffing (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Harry Scott (Rep), elected.
  • 1923 Nov 6: Harry Scott (Rep), elected; Frank Koch (Dem), defeated.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Benjamin B. Badeau (Rep), elected; James A. Turley, defeated.
  • 1927: George A. Casey (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Benjamin B. Badeau (Rep), elected; James A. Turley, defeated.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Walter G. C. Otto (Dem), elected.
  • 1931 Sep 15: Walter G. C. Otto, nominated; James H. Anderson, nominated; Clayton K. Fauver, defeated in primary; Henry A. Cary, defeated in primary.
  • 1931 Nov 3: Walter G. C. Otto (Dem), elected; James H. Anderson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1934 Oct 26: Walter G. C. Otto, resigned.
  • 1934 Nov 26: Paul M. Crandell, appointed.
  • 1935 Sep 17: Stanley W. Church, nominated; Paul M. Crandell, nominated, but died before the election; Antonio Lombardo, defeated in primary.
  • 1935 Oct 23: Paul M. Crandell, died in office.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Harry Scott, elected; Stanley W. Church, defeated; Antonio Lombardo, defeated.
  • 1939 Sep 19: Stanley W. Church (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1939 Sep 19: George I. Roberts (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1939 Sep 19: J. P. Muller (American Labor), nominated unopposed.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Stanley W. Church (Dem), elected; George I. Roberts (Rep), defeated; J. P. Muller (American Labor), defeated.
  • 1943 Nov 2: Stanley W. Church (Dem & American Labor), elected; E. H. Watson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1947 Nov 4: Stanley W. Church (Dem), elected; Abraham I. Menin (Rep), defeated.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Stanley W. Church (Dem & Liberal), elected; William L. Girardi (Rep), defeated.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Stanley W. Church (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Thomas P. Nolan (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1955 Sep 13: Stanley W. Church (Liberal), nominated unopposed.
  • 1955 Nov 8: George Vergara (Ind), elected; Stanley W. Church (Dem & Liberal), defeated; Thomas P. Nolan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Stanley W. Church (Dem & Liberal), elected; George Vergara (Ind), defeated; Theodore R. Greene (Rep), defeated.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Alvin R. Ruskin (Rep), elected; Raymond Calgi (Dem), defeated; Louis Yagoda (Liberal), defeated.
  • 2015 Nov 3: Noam Bramson (Dem & Working Families), elected; James A. O'Toole (Independence), defeated.

    Postmasters at New Rochelle, 1836-1947 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Bowne as of 1836 Benjamin Badeau as of 1881 W. H. Le Count as of 1887 William V. Molloy as of 1897 James Ross as of 1901 Winfield S. Spencer 1904-09 Eben Adams 1909-15 Gregory Dillon 1915-23 Walter E. Stever as of 1928 Thomas P. McLoughlin as of 1937 Joseph C. Walter as of 1943-47

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/newrochelle.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]