The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kingston, New York
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Kingston, 1872-1966 (may be incomplete!)
James G. Lindsley 1872 William Lounsbery as of 1878-80 Henry E. Wieber as of 1896 James E. Phinney as of 1900-01 Morris Block as of 1902-05 A. W. Thompson as of 1906-07 Walter P. Crane 1908-09 Roscoe Irwin 1910-11 Palmer Canfield, Jr. as of 1915-16 Palmer Canfield, Jr. as of 1920-21 Morris Block 1925-26 Edgar J. Dempsey 1926-31 Eugene B. Carey as of 1932-33 Harry B. Walker 1934 Conrad J. Heiselman 1934-41 William F. Edelmuth as of 1942-47 Oscar V. Newkirk as of 1948-53 Frederick H. Stang as of 1954-57 Edwin F. Radel as of 1959 Raymond W. Garraghan as of 1966

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 2: Roscoe Irwin (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Roscoe Irwin (Dem), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: Walter P. Crane (Rep), elected.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Morris Block (Dem), elected.
  • 1926 Nov 7: Morris Block, died in office.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Edgar J. Dempsey (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Nov 5: Edgar J. Dempsey (Rep), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: Harry B. Walker (Rep & Socialist), elected; E. Frank Flanagan (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934 Jan 11: Harry B. Walker, resigned.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Conrad J. Heiselman (Rep), elected.
  • 1937 Nov 2: Conrad J. Heiselman (Rep), elected.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Conrad J. Heiselman (Rep), elected.
  • 1943 Nov 2: William F. Edelmuth (Dem & American Labor), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Oscar V. Newkirk (Rep), elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Oscar V. Newkirk (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Frederick H. Stang (Rep), elected; William F. Edelmuth (Dem), defeated.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Edwin F. Radel (Dem), elected.

    Village Presidents of Kingston, 1866-70 (may be incomplete!)
    Marius Schoonmaker as of 1866 Marius Schoonmaker as of 1869-70

    Postmasters at Kingston, 1793-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Christopher Tappen 1793 John C. Wyncoop 1794-96 John C. Elmendorf 1796 Conrad I. Elmendorf 1803-04 Daniel Broadhead 1804-09 Hasbrouck 1809 Jacob H. Trumpbour as of 1836 William Culley 1841-45 Ira Van Buren 1845-48 David Young 1848-49 H. Roman 1849-53 William Kerr 1853-61 Caleb Clay 1861-69 Joseph S. Smith 1869-73 Daniel Bradbury 1873-82 William M. Hayes 1882-86 W. Scott Gillespie 1886-90 Noah Wolven 1890-94 Henry G. Crouch 1894-98 George M. Brink 1898-1902 Walter C. Dolson 1902-10 Walter P. Crane 1910-15 Sylvester R. Deyo 1915-17 William C. DeWitt 1917-19 William C. DeWitt 1919-24 Walter P. Crane 1924-30 Edward L. Merritt 1930-34 William R. Kraft 1934-35 William R. Kraft 1935-42 James A. DeLaney 1942-46 William R. Kraft 1946-56 Oscar V. Newkirk 1956-57 Oscar V. Newkirk 1957-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/kingston.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]