The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New York: Members of Council of Appointment

Members of New York Council of Appointment, 1777-1803 (May be incomplete!)
John Morin Scott 1777 Alexander Webster 1777-78 Jesse Woodhull 1777 Abraham Yates 1777 Rynier Mynderse 1778 Levi Pawling 1778 Jacob Roosevelt 1778 Jonathan Lawrence 1779 Zephaniah Platt 1779 Ebenezer Russell 1779-80 Dirck W. Ten Broeck 1779 Arthur Parks 1780 Abraham Ten Broeck 1780 Stephen Ward 1780 Henry Oothoudt 1781 Zephaniah Platt 1781 Isaac Stoutenburgh 1781 Alexander Webster 1781 Elkanah Day 1782 John Haring 1782 Jonathan Lawrence 1782 William B. Whiting 1782 Ezra L'Hommedieu 1783-84 Jacobus Swartwout 1783 Alexander Webster 1783 Abraham Yates 1783-84 Jacobus Hathorne 1784 Ebenezer Russell 1784-85 Joseph Gasherie 1785 Isaac Roosevelt 1785 William B. Whiting 1785 David Hopkins 1786 Lewis Morris 1786 Philip Schuyler 1786 Jacobus Swartwout 1786 William Floyd 1787 John Hathorn 1787 Ebenezer Russell 1787 Peter Schuyler 1787 David Hopkins 1788 Lewis Morris 1788 Philip Schuyler 1788 Jacobus Swartwout 1788 John Hathorn 1789 Samuel Townsend 1789 Peter Van Ness 1789 John Williams 1789 John Cantine 1790 Philip Livingston 1790 Edward Savage 1790 Philip Schuyler 1790 Isaac Roosevelt 1791 Peter Schuyler 1791 Thomas Tillotson 1791 Alexander Webster 1791 William Powers 1792 David Pye 1792 Philip Van Cortlandt 1792 Stephen Van Rensselaer 1792 John Frey 1793 David Gelston 1793 John Hasbrouck 1793 Robert Woodworth 1793 Zina Hitchcock 1794 Reuben Hopkins 1794 Philip Schuyler 1794 Selah Strong 1794 Joseph Hasbrouck 1795 Richard Hatfield 1795 William Powers 1795 Jacobus Van Schoonhoven 1795 Michael Myers 1796 Ebenezer Russell 1796 Joshua Sands 1796 Abraham Schenck 1796 Leonard Gansevoort 1797 Thomas Morris 1797 Andrew Onderdonk 1797 Ambrose Spencer 1797 Ezra L'Hommedieu 1798 William Thompson 1798 Moses Vail 1798 Joseph White 1798 Ebenezer Clark 1799 William Denning 1799 Ebenezer Foote 1799 John Frey 1799 Thomas R. Gold 1800 James Gordon 1800 Samuel Haight 1800 Robert Sands 1800 De Witt Clinton 1801 Robert Roseboom 1801 John Sanders 1801 Ambrose Spencer 1801 Lemuel Chipman 1802 Benjamin Hunting 1802 Edward Savage 1802 James W. Wilkin 1802 John C. Horzeboom 1803 Ebenezer Purdy 1803

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1797 Sep 23: Andrew Onderdonk, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/capp.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]