The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Lawrence County
New York

Politicians who were born in St. Lawrence County

  St. Lawrence County (no city given): John Lynde Greene, 1806 — George M. Gleason, 1829 — L. G. M. Fletcher, 1830 — F. B. Willis, 1844 — Peter F. Dodds, 1849 — John T. Newby, 1854 — Forrest S. Chilton, 1872 — Claude L. Cole, 1879
  Brasher Falls: Arthur Loomis Sanborn, 1850
  Canton: Lester S. Willson, 1839 — Leslie W. Russell, 1840 — Luther L. Wright, 1856 — George R. Malby, 1857 — Ralph E. Crane, 1858 — Matthew F. Callahan, c.1884 — Charles E. Bennett, 1910
  Colton: A. Barton Hepburn, 1846 — Bertrand H. Snell, 1870
  De Peyster: Samuel Thornhill, 1834 — N. Martin Curtis, 1835 — Edwyn E. Mason, c.1916
  DeKalb: Ozora P. Stearns, 1831
  Edwards: Alexander O. Brodie, 1849
  Fowler town: Rhoda Fox Graves, 1877
  Gouverneur: John R. Miller, 1856 — Ashton E. Liscum, 1899
  Hopkinton: Lucius Hart Langworthy, 1807
  Lawrence town: Frank C. Fletcher, 1869
  Lisbon: Charles G. Putney, 1866
  Madrid: Cyrus P. Walbridge, 1849
  Massena: Charles E. Belknap, 1846 — Benjamin H. Demo, c.1898 — Frank L. Sundstrom, 1901
  Nicholville: Rollin B. Sanford, 1874
  Norfolk: George E. Van Kennen, 1861 — William P. Rogers, 1913
  North Lawrence: Denis Joseph Driscoll, 1871
  Ogdensburg: Preston King, 1806 — William B. Hickok, c.1824 — Denis O'Brien, 1837 — Matthew D. Wagner, 1856 — Edward B. Hawkins, 1865 — Almon W. Lytle, 1876 — Henry E. Barbour, 1877 — W. Allan Newell, 1883 — Grant F. Daniels, 1913 — Robert C. McEwen, 1920 — David O'B. Martin, 1944
  Near Ogdensburg: Charles Martin, 1856
  Oswegatchie: Daniel Magone, Jr., 1829
  Parishville: Fred W. Flanders, 1866 — Charles B. Sternberg, 1869
  Pierrepont: Edwin A. Merritt, Jr., 1860
  Potsdam: David Carpenter, 1815 — George Albert Smith, 1817 — Charles Horace Stranahan, 1845 — George Arthur Mathews, 1852 — Frank B. Kellogg, 1856 — John T. Barnett, 1869 — George H. Branch, 1870 — Carl S. Salmon, 1887 — Verner M. Ingram, 1911
  Richville: Rollin M. Daggett, 1831
  Somerville: Orlando C. Merriman, 1827
  Stockholm: Calvin T. Hulburd, 1809 — Loyal D. Eldredge, 1831
  Near Waddington: Francis H. Dodds, 1858
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/SL-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]