The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Saratoga County
New York

Politicians who were born in Saratoga County

  Saratoga County (no city given): Lemuel C. Clute, 1834 — George S. Batcheller, 1837 — Miles Beach, 1840 — Daniel W. Tallmadge, 1842 — William W. Worden, 1843 — John L. Davie, 1850 — Henry R. Holbrook, 1866 — Winfred E. Whittemore, 1868
  Ballston Center: John Boyd Thacher, 1847
  Ballston Spa: Nathaniel Bacon, 1802 — Isaiah Blood, 1810 — Stephen S. Barlow, 1818 — Robert E. Whalen, 1874 — Harold D. Finley, 1893
  Ballston town: Hamilton K. Wheeler, 1848
  Burnt Hills: Gilbert T. Seelye, 1877
  Charlton: John W. Taylor, 1784 — Anson Brown, 1800 — Edgar L. Fursman, 1838
  Clifton Park: Herbert B. Fellows, 1860
  Corinth: Benjamin Eggleston, 1816 — James W. Houghton, 1856
  Near Coveville: Charles D. Beckwith, 1838
  Crescent: Peter Rowe, 1807
  Edinburg: Truman G. Younglove, 1815
  Emerson's Corners: Edgar T. Brackett, 1853
  Galway: Alvin Kellogg, 1793 — Day O. Kellogg, 1796 — Allen Potter, 1818 — Horace W. Carpentier, 1824 — George H. West, 1854
  Greenfield: Elisha Champlin, 1798 — Elihu Anthony, 1818 — Lewis S. Bailey, 1842 — Warren B. Ingham, 1878
  Greenfield Center: William Aldrich, 1820
  Half Moon: Michael Hoffman, 1787
  Mechanicville: Thomas P. Lockwood, 1839 — Ella M. Hickey, 1887 — Edward T. Corcoran, c.1894 — Daniel Flynn, 1907
  Moreau: Edward M. Angell, 1868
  Saratoga: Roscius R. Kennedy, 1804 — William S. Ostrander, 1858 — James B. Reynolds, 1870
  Saratoga Springs: Calvin C. Chaffee, 1811 — Benjamin Hale Austin, 1832 — James G. Jenkins, 1834 — Carl L. Wallace, 1865 — Hiram C. Todd, 1876 — A. Augustus Low, 1889 — Henry Schrade, 1897 — Carleton J. King, 1904 — Paul Schrade, 1924 — Aidan I. Mullett, 1926
  Schuylerville: John B. Brisbin, 1827 — George R. Salisbury, 1863
  Stillwater: Isaac Finch, 1783 — Abigail Fillmore, 1798 — Richard David Davis, 1799 — Silas Seymour, 1817 — Ebenezer O. Grosvenor, 1820 — Henry M. Cheever, 1832
  Waterford: John Cramer, 1779 — Michael S. Myers, 1801 — Egbert L. Viele, 1825 — Cassius A. Green, 1847 — Stephen H. Hall, c.1849 — William White Niles, 1860 — Frederick W. Kavanaugh, 1871 — William E. Morris, 1901
  West Charlton: William G. Donnan, 1834
  Near Wilton: Dudley Emerson Cornell, 1837
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/SA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]