The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cattaraugus County
New York

Politicians who were born in Cattaraugus County

  Cattaraugus County (no city given): A. C. Gibbs, 1825 — Samuel A. Rice, 1828 — E. E. Colvin, 1878
  Ashford: Dennison F. Holden, 1835
  Cattaraugus: Robert E. Manley, c.1876 — James Robertson, c.1912
  Cold Spring: James S. Whipple, 1852
  Conewango town: Leigh G. Kirkland, 1873
  Near East Ashford: Elmer E. Studley, 1869
  East Otto: Gilbert A. Pierce, 1839 — Solon S. Laing, 1847 — Philip A. Laing, 1856 — J. DeMott Laing, 1858 — John Laing, 1880 — Lloyd A. Russell, 1921
  Ellicottville: Charles H. Bryan, 1822 — Albert Haight, 1842 — William F. Fitzpatrick, 1895
  Near Ellicottville: Edgar N. Harwood, 1854
  Franklinville: William E. Mason, 1850
  Near Gowanda: James W. Watson, c.1884
  Great Valley town: DeHart H. Ames, 1872
  Hinsdale: Staley N. Wood, 1832
  Humphrey: George W. Cole, 1858 — Thomas H. Dowd, 1859 — George H. Pierce, 1872
  Leon: Wilbur F. Sanders, 1834 — Albert T. Fancher, 1859 — Marion P. Ackler, 1886
  Limestone: Frederic Palen Schoonmaker, 1870
  Little Valley: Augustin W. Ferrin, 1875
  Lyndon: Peter B. McLennan, 1850
  Machias: Coleman C. Vaughan, 1857
  Napoli: Herbert D. Sibley, 1861
  New Albion: H. Olin Young, 1850
  Olean: Frank N. Godfrey, 1852 — James F. Hastings, 1926 — Harry E. Bergold, Jr., 1931
  Otto: Edwin Willits, 1830
  Otto Township: Henry C. Loomis, 1834
  Perrysburg: Warren B. Hooker, 1856 — Allen F. Ferris, 1865 — Harry H. Atwell, 1877
  Portville: Nelson P. Wheeler, 1841 — Joseph W. Bouton, 1856
  Salamanca: John J. McInerney, 1873 — Leonard W. H. Gibbs, 1875 — George H. Ansley, 1875 — Gordon Canfield, 1898
  Sandusky: M. Plin Beebe, 1881
  Versailles: Amos V. Smiley, 1841
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/CA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]