The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Nevada

U.S. District Judges for Nevada, 1865-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Alexander White Baldwin 1865-69 Edgar Winters Hillyer 1869-82 George Myron Sabin 1882-90 Thomas Porter Hawley 1890-1906 Edward Silsby Farrington 1907-28 Frank Herbert Norcross 1928-45 Roger Foley 1945 Roger D. Foley 1962-82 Bruce Rutherford Thompson 1963-78 Harry E. Claiborne 1979-86 Howard D. McKibben 1984-2005 David Warner Hagen 1993-2003 Johnnie B. Rawlinson 1998-2000 Kent J. Dawson 2000-12 James C. Mahan 2002- Brian Sandoval 2005-09 Miranda Du 2012- Jennifer Anna Dorsey 2013- Richard Franklin Boulware II 2014-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1869 Nov 14: Alexander White Baldwin, died in office.
  • 1882 May 10: Edgar Winters Hillyer, died in office.
  • 1890 May 12: George Myron Sabin, died in office.
  • 1906 Jun 30: Thomas Porter Hawley, retired.
  • 1928 Apr 30: Edward Silsby Farrington, took senior status.
  • 1945 Apr 30: Frank Herbert Norcross, took senior status.
  • 1978 Aug 31: Bruce Rutherford Thompson, took senior status.
  • 2003 Nov 28: David Warner Hagen, took senior status.
  • 2005 Apr 1: Howard D. McKibben, took senior status.
  • 2009 Sep 15: Brian Sandoval, resigned.
  • 2012 Jul 9: Kent J. Dawson, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NV/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]