The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Mexico: U.S. Representatives

U.S. Representatives from New Mexico, 1872-2018 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1872: José Manuel Gallegos, defeated.
  • 1912: Nathan Jaffa, defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Nestor Montoya (Rep), elected; Antonio Lucero (Dem), defeated; A. J. McDonald (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: John Morrow (Dem), elected; Adelina Otero Warren (Rep), defeated.
  • 1923: Nestor Montoya, died in office.
  • 1930: Dennis Chavez, elected.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Clinton P. Anderson (Dem), elected; Herman R. Crile (Rep), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Clinton P. Anderson (Dem), elected; Antonio M. Fernandez (Dem), elected; William A. Sutherland (Rep), defeated; Reese P. Fullerton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1957: Tom Bolack (Rep), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 7: Antonio M. Fernandez, died in office.
  • 1958 Mar 11: John J. Dempsey, died in office.
  • 1968: E. S. Johnny Walker (Dem), defeated. Sterling F. Black, defeated for nomination.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Manuel Lujan, Jr. (Rep), elected; Fabian Chavez, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1974: Robert A. Mondragon, defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Harold Lowell Runnels (Dem), elected; Ed Foreman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Manuel Lujan, Jr. (Rep), elected; Charles Ted Asbury (Dem), defeated; Stephen P. Curtis (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Manuel Lujan, Jr. (Rep), elected; Manny Garcia (Dem), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Steven Schiff (Rep), elected; Tom Udall (Dem), defeated; Allen M. Parkman (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1980: Joe R. Skeen, elected.
  • 1980 Aug 5: Harold Lowell Runnels, died in office.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; Peter R. York (Dem), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; Michael Runnels (Dem), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1982: Robert A. Mondragon (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; Louis H. Gallegos (Rep), defeated; Shirley Machocky Jones (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; David F. Cargo (Rep), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; Cecilia M. Salazar (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990: James B. Lewis (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Steven Schiff (Rep), elected; Rebecca Vigil-Giron (Dem), defeated.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Steven Schiff (Rep), elected; Robert J. Aragon (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Steven Schiff (Rep), elected; Peter L. Zollinger (Dem), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Steven Schiff (Rep), elected; John V. Wertheim (Dem), defeated; John A. Uhrich (Green), defeated; Betty Turrietta-Koury (Ind), defeated.
  • 1998 Mar 25: Steven Schiff, died in office.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Heather Wilson (Rep), elected; Phillip J. Maloof (Dem), defeated; Robert L. Anderson (Green), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; Dan Sosa, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; Benjamin Anthony Chavez (Dem), defeated; Rex R. Johnson (Green), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; E. Shirley Baca (Dem), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; E. Shirley Baca (Dem), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; Phil T. Archuletta (Rep), defeated.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; F. Gregg Bemis, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Ed D. Nagel (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; F. Gregg Bemis, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Ed D. Nagel (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected; William Thomas Redmond (Rep), defeated; Ed D. Nagel (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1997 May 13: William Thomas Redmond (Rep), elected; Eric P. Serna (Dem), defeated; Carol A. Miller (Green), defeated; Ed D. Nagel (Libertarian), defeated; Daniel J. Pearlman (Reform), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Tom Udall (Dem), elected; William Thomas Redmond (Rep), defeated; Carol A. Miller (Green), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Heather Wilson (Rep), elected; John J. Kelly (Dem), defeated; Daniel Kerlinsky (Green), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Heather Wilson (Rep), elected; Richard M. Romero (Dem), defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Heather Wilson (Rep), elected; Richard M. Romero (Dem), defeated; Orlin G. Cole (Rep), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), elected; Michael A. Montoya (Dem), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Steve Pearce (Rep), elected; John Arthur Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Steve Pearce (Rep), elected; Gary K. King (Dem), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Tom Udall (Dem), elected; Lisa L. Lutz (Rep), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Tom Udall (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Tom Udall (Dem), elected; Gregory M. Tucker (Rep), defeated.
  • 2018 Dec 31: Michelle Lujan Grisham, resigned.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Harry Teague (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/usrep.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]