The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in New Mexico

U.S. District Attorneys for New Mexico, 1846-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Francis P. Blair, Jr. 1846 Elias P. West 1851-53 Miguel A. Otero 1853 William W. H. Davis 1853-54 William C. Jones 1854-58 R. H. Tompkins 1858-60 Theodore D. Wheaton 1860 Stephen B. Elkins 1867-70 S. M. Ashenfelter 1870-72 Thomas B. Catron 1872-78 Sidney M. Barnes 1878-83 George W. Pritchard 1883-85 Joseph Bell 1885 Thomas Smith 1885-89 Eugene A. Fisk 1889-93 John H. Hemingway 1893-96 George P. Money 1896 William B. Childers 1896-1905 William H. H. Llewellyn 1905-07 David J. Leahy 1907-12 Stephen B. Davis, Jr. 1912-13 Summers Burkhart 1913-21 George R. Craig 1921-24 John W. Wilson 1924-29 Hugh B. Woodward 1929-33 William J. Barker 1933-37 Everett M. Grantham 1937-42 Howard F. Houk 1942-46 Everett M. Grantham 1946-51 Maurice Sanchez 1951-53 Paul F. Larrazolo 1953-57 James A. Bourland 1957-61 John F. Quinn, Jr. 1961-69 Ruth C. Streeter 1969 Victor R. Ortega 1969-78 Rufus E. Thompson 1978-82 Don J. Svet 1982 William L. Lutz 1982-91 Don J. Svet 1991-93 Larry Gomez 1993 John J. Kelly 1993-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]