The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Mexico: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of New Mexico, 1911-2008 (May be incomplete!)
Ezequiel Cabeza de Baca 1911 Washington Ellsworth Lindsey 1917 J. M. Murray, Sr. 1940 James Brooks Jones 1940 Joseph M. Montoya 1947-51 Joseph M. Montoya 1955-57 Tom Bolack 1961-62 Mack Easley 1963-64 E. Lee Francis 1967-70 Robert A. Mondragon 1971-75 Robert E. Ferguson 1975-79 Robert A. Mondragon 1979-83 Diane D. Denish 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1916: Washington Ellsworth Lindsey, elected.
  • 1950: Victor Salazar (Dem), defeated; H. Gene Autry (Dem), defeated.
  • 1970: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Casey E. Luna (Dem), elected; Mary L. Thompson (Rep), defeated; Karia Lee Basta (Libertarian), defeated; Terese Zucal, defeated.
  • 2002: Diane D. Denish (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]