The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Mexico: Governors

Governors of New Mexico, 1912-2020 (May be incomplete!)
William C. McDonald 1912-17 Ezequiel Cabeza de Baca 1917 Washington Ellsworth Lindsey 1917-19 Octaviano A. Larrazolo 1919-21 Merritt Cramer Mechem 1921-23 James F. Hinkle 1923-25 Arthur T. Hannett 1925-27 Richard C. Dillon 1927-31 Arthur Seligman 1931-33 Andrew W. Hockenhull 1933-35 Clyde Tingley 1935-39 John E. Miles 1939-43 John J. Dempsey 1943-47 Thomas J. Mabry 1947-51 Edwin L. Mechem 1951-55 John Field Simms, Jr. 1955-57 Edwin L. Mechem 1957-59 John Burroughs 1959-61 Edwin L. Mechem 1961-62 Tom Bolack 1962-63 John M. Campbell 1963-67 David F. Cargo 1967-71 Bruce King 1971-74 Jerry Apodaca 1975-79 Bruce King 1979-82 Toney Anaya 1983-87 Garrey Edward Carruthers 1987-91 Bruce King 1991-94 Gary E. Johnson 1995-2002 Bill Richardson 2003-10 Susana Martinez 2011-18 Michelle Lujan Grisham 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1917 Feb 18: Ezequiel Cabeza de Baca, died in office.
  • 1920: R. H. Hanna (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Arthur T. Hannett (Dem), elected; Manuel B. Otero (Rep), defeated; Green B. Patterson (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1933 Sep 25: Arthur Seligman, died in office.
  • 1946: Edward L. Safford (Rep), defeated.
  • 1950: John E. Miles, defeated.
  • 1954: Alvin Mathias Stockton, defeated.
  • 1970: Jack Daniels (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1974: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978: Joe R. Skeen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Bruce King (Dem), elected; Frank M. Bond (Rep), defeated; Joseph E. Knight (Libertarian), defeated; Thomas Macaione, defeated.
  • 1994: David F. Cargo, defeated for nomination.
  • 1994: John Dendahl (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1994: Robert A. Mondragon (Green), defeated.
  • 1998: Martin J. Chávez (Dem), defeated.
  • 2002: Bill Richardson (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]