The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in New Jersey

U.S. District Attorneys for New Jersey, 1789-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Richard Stockton 1789-91 Abraham Ogden 1791-98 Lucius H. Stockton 1798-1801 Frederick Frelinghuysen 1801 George C. Maxwell 1801-03 William S. Pennington 1803-04 Joseph McIlvaine 1804-21 Lucius Q. C. Elmer 1824-28 Garret D. Wall 1829-34 James S. Green 1835-48 William Halstead 1850-53 Garrit S. Cannon 1853-58 Anthony Q. Keasby 1861-82 Job H. Lippincott 1886-87 Samuel F. Bigelow 1887-88 George S. Duryee 1888-90 Henry S. White 1890-94 John W. Beekman 1894-96 J. Kearny Rice 1896-1900 David O. Watkins 1900-03 Cortland Parker, Jr. 1903 John B. Vreeland 1903-13 J. Warren Davis 1913-16 Charles F. Lynch 1916-19 Joseph L. Bodine 1919-20 Elmer H. Geran 1920-22 Walter G. Winne 1922-28 James W. McCarthy 1928 Philip Forman 1928-32 Harlan Besson 1932-35 John J. Quinn 1935-40 William F. Smith 1940-41 Charles M. Phillips 1941-43 Thorn Lord 1943-45 Edgar H. Rossbach 1945-48 Isaiah Matlack 1948 Alfred E. Modarelli 1948-51 Grover C. Richman, Jr. 1951-53 William F. Tompkins 1953-54 Raymond Del Tufo, Jr. 1954-56 Herman Scott 1956 Chester A. Weidenburner 1956-61 David M. Satz, Jr. 1961-69 Donald Horowitz 1969 Frederick B. Lacey 1969-71 Herbert J. Stern 1971-74 Jonathan L. Goldstein 1974-77 Robert J. Del Tufo 1977-80 William W. Robertson 1980-81 W. Hunt Dumont 1981-85 Thomas W. Greelish 1985-87 Samuel A. Alito, Jr. 1987-90 Michael Chertoff 1990-94 Faith S. Hochberg 1994-99 Robert J. Cleary 1999-2002 Chris Christie 2002-08 Ralph J. Marra, Jr. 2008-09 Paul J. Fishman 2009-
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]