The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Jersey: House Speakers

Speakers of the New Jersey State House of Assembly, 1776-2006 (May be incomplete!)
John Hart 1776-78 Ebenezer Elmer 1791 Ebenezer Elmer 1795 James H. Imlay 1796 James Cox 1804-07 Ephraim Bateman 1813 Lucius Q. C. Elmer 1823 John Huyler 1851 Nehemiah Perry 1856 Charles Haight 1861-62 James J. Bergen 1891-92 Louis T. DeRousse 1896 Benjamin F. Jones 1900 William J. Bradley 1901-02 John Boyd Avis 1904-05 John D. Prince 1909 Charles C. Pilgrim 1916 Charles A. Wolverton 1918 Arthur N. Pierson 1919 W. Irving Glover 1920 William W. Evans 1923 Harry G. Eaton 1924 Clifford R. Powell 1925 Ralph W. Chandless 1926 Anthony J. Siracusa 1927 Thomas L. Hanson 1928 Guy G. Gabrielson 1929 William B. Knight 1930 Russell S. Wise 1931 Thomas G. Walker 1937-38 Manfield G. Amlicke 1943 Dominic A. Cavicchia 1944 Leon Leonard 1947 James E. Fraser 1950 William F. Hyland 1958 John W. Davis 1962 Alan J. Karcher 1982-85 Chuck Hardwick 1986-90 Jack Collins 2000 Albio Sires 2002-06

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1950 Aug 29: James E. Fraser, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/spkr.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]