The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Jersey: Chief Justices of the Supreme Court

Chief Justices of the New Jersey State Supreme Court, 1704-2016 (May be incomplete!)
Roger Mompesson 1704-09 Thomas Gordon 1709-10 David Jamison 1710-23 William Trent 1723-24 Robert Lettice Hooper 1724-28 Thomas Farmer 1728-38 Robert Hunter Morris 1738-58 William Aynsley 1758-59 Robert Hunter Morris 1759-64 Charles Read 1764 Frederick Smyth 1764-76 Robert Morris 1777-79 David Brearley 1779-89 James Kinsey 1789-1803 Andrew Kirkpatrick 1804-24 Charles Ewing 1824-32 Joseph C. Hornblower 1832-46 Henry W. Green 1846-53 Mercer Beasley 1864-97 William J. Magie 1897-1900 David A. Depue 1900 William S. Gummere 1901-33 Thomas J. Brogan 1933-46 Clarence E. Case 1946-48 Arthur T. Vanderbilt 1948-57 Joseph Weintraub 1957-73 Pierre P. Garven 1973 Richard J. Hughes 1973-79 Robert N. Wilentz 1979-96 Deborah T. Poritz 1996-2006 James R. Zazzali 2006-07 Stuart Rabner 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1803 Jan 4: James Kinsey, died in office.
  • 1897 Feb 19: Mercer Beasley, died in office.
  • 1946 Mar 15: Thomas J. Brogan, resigned.
  • 1957 Jun 16: Arthur T. Vanderbilt, died in office.
  • 1973 Oct 19: Pierre P. Garven, died in office.
  • 1996 Jul 1: Robert N. Wilentz, retired.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/spcj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]