The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Jersey: Associate Justices of Supreme Court

Associate Justices of the New Jersey State Supreme Court, 1774-2016 (May be incomplete!)
Richard Stockton 1774 John De Hart as of 1776-77 Isaac Smith 1777 John Cleves Symmes 1777-87 Andrew Kirkpatrick as of 1798-1804 Samuel L. Southard as of 1815-20 Thomas Cox Ryerson as of 1834-38 William L. Dayton as of 1838 Peter Vredenburgh 1850 Lucius Q. C. Elmer as of 1852-59 Daniel Haines as of 1852-66 John Van Dyke as of 1859-66 George H. Brown as of 1861-65 Lucius Q. C. Elmer as of 1861-69 Joseph D. Bedle as of 1865-75 Alfred Reed 1875-95 William J. Magie 1880-97 Charles G. Garrison 1888-93 David A. Depue 1889-1900 Jonathan Dixon as of 1889-1900 Manning M. Knapp 1889-92 Edward W. Scudder 1889-93 Bennett Van Syckel as of 1889-1900 George T. Werts 1892-93 Job H. Lippincott 1893-1900 Leon Abbett 1893-94 William S. Gummere 1895-1901 George C. Ludlow 1895-1900 Charles G. Garrison 1896-1900 Gilbert Collins 1897-1903 J. Franklin Fort 1900-07 Joseph H. Gaskill 1900 Mahlon Pitney 1901-08 Thomas W. Trenchard 1906-41 James J. Bergen as of 1907-15 Charles Wolcott Parker 1907-47 Frank S. Katzenbach, Jr. as of 1920-29 Joseph L. Bodine 1929-48 Clarence E. Case 1929-46 Ralph W. E. Donges 1930-48 Thomas J. Brogan 1932-33 Harry Heher 1933-59 Joseph B. Perskie 1933-47 Newton Hazelton Porter 1938-45 Frederic R. Colie 1941-48 A. Dayton Oliphant 1945-46 William A. Wachenfeld 1946-59 Howard Eastwood 1946-48 Albert E. Burling 1947-60 Nathan L. Jacobs 1948 Henry E. Ackerson, Jr. 1948-52 Clarence E. Case 1948-52 A. Dayton Oliphant 1948-57 Nathan L. Jacobs 1952-75 William J. Brennan, Jr. 1952-56 Joseph Weintraub 1956-57 John J. Francis 1957-72 Haydn Proctor 1957-73 Frederick Wilson Hall 1959-75 C. Thomas Schettino 1959-72 Vincent S. Haneman 1960-71 Worrall Frederick Mountain 1971-79 Morris Pashman 1973- Mark A. Sullivan 1973- Robert L. Clifford 1973-94 Alan B. Handler 1977- Stewart G. Pollock 1979- Daniel J. O'Hern 1981- Marie L. Garibaldi 1982-2000 Gary S. Stein 1985-2002 Virginia Long 1999-2012 Jaynee LaVecchia 2000- James R. Zazzali 2000-06 Barry T. Albin 2002- John E. Wallace, Jr. 2003-10 Roberto A. Rivera-Soto 2004-11 Anne M. Patterson 2011- Faustino J. Fernandez-Vina 2013- Lee A. Solomon 2014- Walter F. Timpone 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1838: Thomas Cox Ryerson, died in office.
  • 1892 Jan 26: Manning M. Knapp, died in office.
  • 1893 Jan 15: Charles G. Garrison, resigned.
  • 1893 Feb 14: Edward W. Scudder, died in office.
  • 1893 Mar 21: Leon Abbett, appointed.
  • 1894 Dec 4: Leon Abbett, died in office.
  • 1895 Feb 25: William S. Gummere, appointed.
  • 1895 Jun 13: George C. Ludlow, appointed.
  • 1897 Mar 8: Gilbert Collins, appointed.
  • 1929 Mar 13: Frank S. Katzenbach, Jr., died in office.
  • 1945 May 16: Newton Hazelton Porter, died in office.
  • 1960 Oct 29: Albert E. Burling, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/spaj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]