The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Jersey: Chancellors of the Court of Chancery

Chancellors of the New Jersey Court of Chancery, 1710-1948 (May be incomplete!)
Andrew Hunter 1710-19 William Burnet 1719-28 John Montgomery 1728-31 Lewis Morris 1731-32 William Cosby 1732 John Anderson 1732 John Hamilton 1732-38 Lewis Morris 1738-46 John Hamilton 1746-47 John Reading 1747 Jonathan Belcher 1747-57 John Reading 1757-58 Sir Francis Bernard, 1st Baronet 1758-60 Thomas Boone 1760-61 Josiah Hardy 1761-62 William Franklin 1762-76 William Livingston 1776-90 William Paterson 1790-93 Richard Howell 1793-1801 Joseph Bloomfield 1801-02 John Lambert 1802-03 Joseph Bloomfield 1803-12 Aaron Ogden 1812-13 William S. Pennington 1813-15 Mahlon Dickerson 1815-17 Isaac H. Williamson 1817-29 Peter D. Vroom 1829-32 Samuel L. Southard 1832-33 Elias P. Seeley 1833 Peter D. Vroom 1833-36 Philemon Dickerson 1836-37 William Pennington 1837-43 Daniel Haines 1843-45 Oliver S. Halsted 1845-52 Benjamin Williamson 1852-59 Henry W. Green 1860-66 Abraham O. Zabriskie 1866-73 Theodore Runyon 1873-87 Alexander T. McGill 1887-1900 William J. Magie 1900-08 Mahlon Pitney 1908-12 Edwin R. Walker 1912-27 A. Dayton Oliphant 1946-48

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1746 May 21: Lewis Morris, died in office.
  • 1790 Jul 25: William Livingston, died in office.
  • 1900 Apr 21: Alexander T. McGill, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/chan.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]