The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Jersey: State Attorneys General

New Jersey State Attorneys General, 1776-2013 (May be incomplete!)
William Paterson 1776-83 Joseph Bloomfield 1783-92 Aaron D. Woodruff 1793-1811 Aaron D. Woodruff 1812-17 Theodore Frelinghuysen 1817-29 Samuel L. Southard 1829-33 Richard Stockton Field 1838-41 Abraham Browning 1845-50 Lucius Q. C. Elmer 1850-52 William L. Dayton 1857-61 Frederick T. Frelinghuysen 1861-66 George M. Robeson 1867-69 Robert Gilchrist 1869-73 John P. Stockton 1877-92 Samuel H. Grey 1899 Edward L. Katzenbach 1924-29 William A. Stevens 1931 David T. Wilentz 1934-44 Walter D. Van Riper 1944-48 Theodore D. Parsons 1948-54 Grover C. Richman, Jr. 1954-58 David D. Furman 1958-62 Arthur J. Sills 1962-70 George F. Kugler, Jr. 1970-74 William F. Hyland 1974-78 James R. Zazzali 1981-82 Irwin I. Kimmelman 1982-86 Deborah T. Poritz 1994-96 Stuart Rabner 2006-07 Jeffrey Chiesa 2012-13

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1817: Aaron D. Woodruff, died in office.
  • 1857: Frederick T. Frelinghuysen, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]