The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in New Hampshire

U.S. District Attorneys for New Hampshire, 1789-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Sherburne, Jr. 1789-94 Edward St. Loe Livermore 1794-97 Jeremiah Smith 1797-1801 Edward St. Loe Livermore 1801 John S. Sherburne 1801-04 Jonathan Steele 1804 Daniel Humphreys 1804-27 William Plumer, Jr. 1827-28 Daniel M. Christie 1828-29 Samuel Cushman 1829-30 Daniel McDurell 1830-34 John P. Hale 1834-41 Joel Eastman 1841-45 Franklin Pierce 1845-47 Josiah Minot 1847-50 William W. Stickney 1850-53 John H. George 1853-58 Anson S. Marshall 1858-61 Charles W. Rand 1861 Henry P. Rolfe 1869 Joshua G. Hall 1874-79 Ossian Ray 1879-80 Charles H. Burns 1881-85 John S. H. Frink 1885-90 James W. Remick 1890-94 Oliver E. Branch 1894-98 Charles J. Hamblett 1898-1907 Charles W. Hoitt 1907-14 Fred H. Brown 1914-22 Raymond U. Smith 1922-34 Alexander Murchie 1934-45 Dennis E. Sullivan 1945-49 Robert D. Branch 1949 John J. Sheehan 1949-54 Maurice Paul Bois 1954-61 William H. Craig, Jr. 1961-63 John D. McCarthy 1963 Louis M. Janelle 1963-69 David A. Brock 1969-72 William B. Cullimore 1972-73 Carroll F. Jones 1973 William J. Deachman III 1973-77 William H. Shaheen 1977-81 Robert J. Kennedy 1981 W. Stephen Thayer III 1981-84 Bruce Kenna 1984-85 Richard Wiebusch 1985 Peter E. Papps 1985-89 Jeffrey R. Howard 1989-93 Peter E. Papps 1993 Paul M. Gagnon 1994-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]