The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Hampshire: State Treasurers

New Hampshire State Treasurers, 1783-1929 (May be incomplete!)
John Taylor Gilman 1783-89 William Gardner 1789-91 John Taylor Gilman 1791-94 Oliver Peabody 1794-1804 Nathaniel Gilman 1804-09 Thomas W. Thompson 1809-10 Nathaniel Gilman 1810-14 William Austin Kent 1814-16 William Pickering 1816-28 Samuel Morrill 1828-29 William Pickering 1829-30 Abner B. Kelly 1830-37 Zenas Clement 1837-43 John Atwood 1843-46 James Peverly, Jr. 1846-47 James Peverly, Jr. 1847-50 Edson Hill 1850-53 Walter Harriman 1853-55 William Berry 1855-57 Peter Sanborn 1857-71 Leander W. Cogswell 1871-72 Solon A. Carter 1872-74 Josiah G. Dearborn 1874-75 Solon A. Carter 1875-1913 George E. Farrand 1913-14 J. Wesley Plummer 1914-23 George E. Farrand 1923-25 Henry E. Chamberlin 1925-29

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1929: Henry E. Chamberlin, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]