The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Hampshire: State Supreme Court

Justices of the New Hampshire State Supreme Court, 1776-2001 (May be incomplete!)
Leverett Hubbard 1776-85 Matthew Thornton 1776-82 John Wentworth 1776-81 Josiah Bartlett 1782-90 Woodbury Langdon 1782-83 William Whipple 1783-85 John Dudley 1784-97 Woodbury Langdon 1786-91 Simeon Olcott 1790-95 Timothy Farrar 1791-1803 Ebenezer Thompson 1795-96 Daniel Newcomb 1796-98 Edward St. Loe Livermore 1797-99 Paine Wingate 1798-1809 Arthur Livermore 1799-1809 William King Atkinson 1803-05 Richard Evans 1809-13 Jonathan Steele 1810-12 Clifton Clagett 1812-13 Caleb Ellis 1813-16 Arthur Livermore 1813-16 Samuel Bell 1816-19 Levi Woodbury 1816-23 Samuel Green 1819-40 John Harris 1823-33 Joel Parker 1833-38 Nathaniel Gookin Upham 1833-42 Leonard Wilcox 1838-40 John James Gilchrist 1840-48 Andrew Salter Woods 1840-55 Ira Allen Eastman 1848-59 Leonard Wilcox 1848-50 Samuel Dana Bell 1849-59 Ira Perley 1850-52 Asa Fowler 1855-61 George Yeaton Sawyer 1855-59 Henry Adams Bellows 1859-69 Charles Doe 1859-74 George Washington Nesmith 1859-70 J. Everett Sargent 1859-73 William Henry Bartlett 1861-67 Jeremiah Smith 1867-74 William Lawrence Foster 1869-74 William S. Ladd 1870-76 Ellery Albee Hibbard 1873-74 Isaac W. Smith 1874 William H. H. Allen 1876-93 George A. Bingham 1876-80 William Lawrence Foster 1876-81 Aaron W. Sawyer 1876-77 Clinton Warrington Stanley 1876-84 Lewis W. Clark 1877-98 Isaac W. Smith 1877-95 Isaac N. Blodgett 1880-98 Alonzo P. Carpenter 1881-96 George A. Bingham 1884-91 William M. Chase 1891-1907 Robert M. Wallace 1893-1901 Frank N. Parsons 1895-1902 Robert G. Pike 1896-1901 Robert J. Peaslee 1898-1901 John E. Young 1898-1901 James W. Remick 1901-04 Reuben E. Walker 1901-21 George H. Bingham 1902-13 John E. Young 1904-25 Robert J. Peaslee 1908-24 William Alberto Plummer 1913-25 Leslie Perkins Snow 1921-32 John E. Allen 1924-34 Thomas L. Marble 1925-43 Oliver Winslow Branch 1926-46 Peter Woodbury 1933-41 Edwin Lawrence Page 1934-46 Henri Alphonse Burque 1941-47 Francis Wayland Johnston 1943-49 Laurence Ilsley Duncan 1946-76 Frank Rowe Kenison 1946-52 Amos Noyes Blandin, Jr. 1947-66 Edward John Lampron 1949-78 John Richard Goodnow 1952-57 Stephen Morse Wheeler 1957-67 William Alvan Grimes 1966-79 Robert Frederick Griffith 1967-76 Maurice Paul Bois 1976-83 Charles G. Douglas III 1977-85 David A. Brock 1978-86 John W. King as of 1979-81 William F. Batchelder 1981-95 David H. Souter 1983-90 William R. Johnson 1985-99 W. Stephen Thayer III 1986-2000 Sherman D. Horton, Jr. 1990-2000 John T. Broderick, Jr. 1995- Linda S. Dalianis 2000- James E. Duggan 2000- Joseph P. Nadeau 2000-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1816 May 9: Caleb Ellis, died in office.
  • 1874 Feb 10: Isaac W. Smith, appointed.
  • 1877 Jul 24: Isaac W. Smith, appointed.
  • 1891 Mar 19: George A. Bingham, resigned.
  • 1891 Mar 24: William M. Chase, appointed.
  • 1893 Apr 1: William H. H. Allen, resigned.
  • 1893 Apr 15: Robert M. Wallace, appointed.
  • 1895 May 21: Frank N. Parsons, appointed.
  • 1896 Apr 14: Robert G. Pike, appointed.
  • 1898 Jun 28: Robert J. Peaslee, appointed.
  • 1898 Aug 18: John E. Young, appointed.
  • 1947 Mar 1: Amos Noyes Blandin, Jr., appointed.
  • 1985: William R. Johnson, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]