The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Hampshire: State Attorneys General

New Hampshire State Attorneys General, 1777-2009 (May be incomplete!)
Jonathan Blanchard 1777 John Sullivan 1782-86 Benjamin West 1786-87 John Prentice 1787-93 Joshua Atherton 1793-1801 William Gordon 1801-02 Jeremiah Mason 1802-05 George Sullivan 1805-06 Samuel Bell 1806-07 William King Atkinson 1807-12 Daniel French 1812-15 George Sullivan 1815-35 Charles F. Gove 1835-43 Lyman B. Walker 1843-47 John S. Wells 1847-48 John Sullivan 1848-63 William C. Clarke 1863-72 Lewis W. Clark 1872-76 Mason W. Tappan 1876-86 Daniel Barnard 1887-92 Edwin G. Eastman 1892-1911 James P. Tuttle 1911-18 Oscar L. Young 1918-23 Irving A. Hinkley 1923-24 Jeremy R. Waldron 1925-29 Ralph W. Davis 1929-32 Francis Wayland Johnston 1932-35 Thomas P. Cheney 1935-40 Frank Rowe Kenison 1940-42 Frank Rowe Kenison 1945-46 Ernest R. D'Amours 1946-49 William L. Phinney 1949-50 Gordon M. Tiffany 1950-53 Louis C. Wyman 1953-61 Gardner C. Turner 1961 Maurice J. Murphy, Jr. 1961 William Maynard 1961-66 George S. Pappagianis 1966-70 Warren B. Rudman 1970-76 David H. Souter 1976-78 Thomas D. Rath 1978-80 Gregory H. Smith 1981-84 Stephen E. Merrill 1984-89 John Arnold 1989-92 Jeffrey R. Howard 1993 Kelly Ayotte 2004-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1802 May 8: William Gordon, died in office.
  • 1886 Oct 25: Mason W. Tappan, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]