The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Nebraska: State Treasurers

Nebraska State Treasurers, 1867-2001 (May be incomplete!)
Augustus Kountze 1867-69 James Sweet 1869-71 Henry A. Koenig 1871-75 Joseph C. McBride 1875-79 George M. Bartlett 1879-83 Phelps D. Sturdevant 1883-85 Charles H. Willard 1885-89 John E. Hill 1889-93 Joseph S. Bartley 1893-97 John B. Meserve 1897-1901 William Stuefer 1901-03 Peter Mortensen 1903-07 L. G. Brian 1907-11 Walter A. George 1911-15 George E. Hall 1915-19 Daniel B. Cropsey 1919-23 C. D. Robinson 1923-27 Willis M. Stebbins 1927-31 T. W. Bass 1931-33 George E. Hall 1933-36 Horatio J. Murray 1936-37 Walter H. Jensen 1937-39 T. W. Bass 1939 John Havekost 1939-41 L. B. Johnson 1941-43 Carl G. Swanson 1943-45 Edward Gillette 1946-51 Frank B. Heintze 1951-55 Ralph W. Hill 1955-58 Bertha I. Hill 1958-59 Richard R. Larsen 1959-61 Clarence L. E. Swanson 1961-64 P. Merle Humphries 1964-65 Fred Sorenson 1965-67 Wayne R. Swanson 1967-75 Frank Marsh 1975-81 Kay A. Orr 1981-87 Frank Marsh 1987-91 Dave Heineman 1995-2001

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1940 Nov 5: L. B. Johnson (Rep), elected; Walter H. Jensen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Edward Gillette (Rep), elected; William T. Thompson, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Ralph W. Hill (Rep), elected; Richard R. Larsen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958 Jul 13: Ralph W. Hill, died in office.
  • 1964 Apr 5: Clarence L. E. Swanson, died in office.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Wayne R. Swanson (Rep), elected; Fred Sorenson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1982: Kay A. Orr (Rep), elected.
  • 1990: Frank Marsh (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]