The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Nebraska: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Nebraska, 1877-2005 (May be incomplete!)
Othman A. Abbott 1877-79 Edmund C. Carns 1879-83 A. W. Agee 1883-85 H. H. Shedd 1885-89 George D. Meiklejohn 1889-91 Thomas Jefferson Majors 1891-95 Robert E. Moore 1895-97 James E. Harris 1897-99 Edward A. Gilbert 1899-1901 Ezra P. Savage 1901-03 Edmund G. McGilton 1903-07 Melville R. Hopewell 1907-11 Sam R. McKelvie 1913-15 James Pearson 1915-17 Edgar Howard 1917-19 Pelham A. Barrows 1919-23 Fred G. Johnson 1923-25 George A. Williams 1925-31 Theodore W. Metcalfe 1931-33 Walter H. Jurgensen 1933-38 Nate M. Parsons 1938-39 William E. Johnson 1939-43 Roy W. Johnson 1943-47 Robert B. Crosby 1947-49 Charles J. Warner 1949-55 Dwight W. Burney 1957-60 Dwight W. Burney 1961-65 Philip C. Sorensen 1965-67 John E. Everroad 1967-71 Frank Marsh 1971-75 Gerald T. Whelan 1975-79 Roland A. Luedtke 1979-83 Donald Francis McGinley 1983 Maxine B. Moul 1991- Dave Heineman 2001-05

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1911 May 2: Melville R. Hopewell, died in office.
  • 1940 Nov 5: William E. Johnson (Rep), elected; William H. Diers (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Charles J. Warner (Rep), elected; Sam Howell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Charles J. Warner (Rep), elected; Stanley D. Long (Dem), defeated.
  • 1955 Sep 24: Charles J. Warner, died in office.
  • 1960: Norman A. Otto (Dem), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: John E. Everroad (Rep), elected; Ross H. Rasmussen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1974: Terry Carpenter, defeated; Anne Stuart Batchelder (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]