The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Lincoln, Nebraska

Mayors of Lincoln, 1871-2011 (may be incomplete!)
William F. Chapin 1871-72 Erastus E. Brown 1872-73 Robert D. Silver, Jr. 1873-74 Samuel W. Little 1874-75 Amasa Cobb 1875-76 Robert D. Silver, Jr. 1876-77 Harvey Wesley Hardy 1877-79 Seth P. Galey 1879-80 John H. Wright 1880-81 John Doolittle 1882-83 Robert Emmett Moore 1883-85 Carlos C. Burr 1885-87 Andrew J. Sawyer 1887-89 Robert B. Graham 1889-91 Austin H. Weir 1891-95 Frank A. Graham 1895-99 Hudson J. Winnett 1899-1903 George A. Adams 1903-05 Francis W. Brown 1905-09 Don L. Love 1909-11 Alvin H. Armstrong 1911-13 Frank C. Zehrung 1913-15 Charles W. Bryan 1915-17 John Eschelman Miller 1917-20 Frank C. Zehrung 1921-27 Vern Hedge 1927-29 Don L. Love 1929-31 Frank C. Zehrung 1931-33 Fenton B. Fleming 1933-35 Charles W. Bryan 1935-37 Oren S. Copeland 1937-39 Robert Erle Campbell 1939-41 Richard O. Johnson 1941-43 Lloyd J. Marti 1943-47 Clarence G. Miles 1947-50 Thomas R. Pansing 1950 Victor E. Anderson 1950-53 Clark Jeary 1953-56 Bennett S. Martin 1956-59 Bartlett E. Boyles 1959-63 Dell L. Tyrell 1963 Dean H. Petersen 1963-67 Sam Schwartzkopf 1967-75 Helen Boosalis 1975-83 Roland A. Luedtke 1983-87 Bill Harris 1987-91 Mike Johanns 1991-98 Dale Young 1998-99 Don Wesely 1999-2003 Coleen Seng 2003-07 Chris Beutler 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1955: Clark Jeary, elected.
  • 1956: Clark Jeary, resigned.
  • 1959 Apr 7: Bennett S. Martin, nominated; Bartlett E. Boyles, nominated.
  • 1959 May 5: Bartlett E. Boyles, elected; Bennett S. Martin, defeated.
  • 1967: Sam Schwartzkopf, elected.
  • 1971: Sam Schwartzkopf, elected.
  • 1975: Sam Schwartzkopf, defeated.
  • 1999 Apr 6: Don Wesely, nominated; Cindy Johnson, nominated; Jim Wrenholt, defeated in primary; Terry Kubicek, defeated in primary; Randall Reichert, defeated in primary.
  • 1999 May 4: Don Wesely, elected; Cindy Johnson, defeated.
  • 2003 Apr 8: Glenn Friendt, nominated; Coleen Seng, nominated.
  • 2003 May 6: Coleen Seng, elected; Glenn Friendt, defeated.
  • 2007 Apr 3: Chris Beutler, nominated; Ken Svoboda, nominated; Roger Yant, Sr., defeated in primary; Mike Deal, defeated in primary.
  • 2007 May 1: Chris Beutler, elected; Ken Svoboda, defeated.
  • 2011 Apr 5: Chris Beutler, nominated; Tammy Buffington, nominated.
  • 2011 May 3: Chris Beutler, elected; Tammy Buffington, defeated.

    Postmasters at Lincoln, 1868-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles C. Cook 1868 William J. Abbott 1868-69 Cyrus N. Baird 1869-75 Otto Funke 1875-81 Joseph C. McBride 1881-85 Albert Watkins 1885-89 Charles H. Gere 1889-94 John H. Harley 1894-98 Herbert M. Bushnell 1898-1902 Edward R. Sizer 1902-14 Francis W. Brown 1914-15 L. G. Ludlam 1915 Addison S. Tibbets 1915 J. Guthrie Ludlam 1915 Frederick E. Shepherd 1915 Samuel G. Hudson 1915-20 Fred B. Horham 1920-21 E. G. Bivins 1921 Fred B. Horham 1921 William L. McClay 1921-27 Lucius H. Watson 1927-28 Trevelyan E. Gillaspie 1928-36 Robert E. Fenton 1936-37 Robert E. Fenton 1937-43 Orion E. Jerner 1943-62 Kenneth P. Lewis 1962-63 Kenneth P. Lewis 1963-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1920 Mar 12: Samuel G. Hudson, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/ofc/lincoln.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]