The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Grand Forks County
North Dakota

Grand Forks County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Grand Forks County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Grand Forks County: [none currently in database]

Grand Forks County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Willis A. Joy — J. Nelson Kelly
   1916, St. Louis: Fred Bartholomew — J. Nelson Kelly — J. F. T. O'Connor
   1920, San Francisco: F. F. Burchard
   1924, New York: J. F. T. O'Connor
   1928, Houston: F. F. Burchard
   1932, Chicago: David G. Kelly
   1936, Philadelphia: Nick Nelson
   1940, Chicago: Henry Holt
   1944, Chicago: J. J. Daly — Mrs. Jerome Dunlevy — J. P. Griffin — J. J. Quigley
   1952, Chicago: David G. Kelly — Mrs. Clare Terhaar
   1960, Los Angeles: David G. Kelly — James Lamb
   1980, New York: Lynn Frazer — Gene Martin — Ben Ring
   1996, Chicago: Audrey Henderson-Nocho — Iola Kvasager — Max Laird — Dianne Mondry — Loretta Netterville
   2004, Boston: Lois Delmore — Eliot Glassheim — Thea Reilkoff — Mary Wakefield — Lonny Winrich
   2008, Denver: Mary Wakefield — Lonny Winrich
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: Frank Veits
   1912, Chicago: P. O. Thorson
   1916, Chicago: N. B. Black — Olger B. Burtness
   1924, Cleveland: J. A. Dinnie
   1928, Kansas City: E. E. Veitch
   1932, Chicago: A. I. Hunter
   1936, Cleveland: Olger B. Burtness
   1940, Philadelphia: H. H. Herberger
   1944, Chicago: W. L. Romberg
   1948, Philadelphia: Olger B. Burtness
   1952, Chicago: John Scott
   1956, San Francisco: George Longmire — A. J. Scott
   1960, Chicago: John Scott
   1972, Miami Beach: Ben Clayburgh — John Dwyer — Linda Peterson
   2004, New York: Beverly Clayburgh — Ken Svedjan
   2008, St. Paul: Beth Bouley — Beverly Clayburgh — Duane Mutch — Mark Owens — Earl Strinden — Jerry Youngberg
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ND/GF-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]