The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Burleigh County
North Dakota

Burleigh County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Burleigh County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Burleigh County: [none currently in database]

Burleigh County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Frank Reed
   1916, St. Louis: Isaac P. Baker — Frank O. Hellstrom
   1920, San Francisco: W. E. Breen
   1924, New York: Henry R. Murphy
   1932, Chicago: R. B. Murphy
   1936, Philadelphia: Thomas Burke — Fannie Dunn Quain
   1940, Chicago: Joseph Byrne — Rita Murphy
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. Al Barrett — Joseph Byrne — Adolph Michelson — Rita Murphy — Axel Soder
   1948, Philadelphia: Axel Soder
   1952, Chicago: Etta Fenelon — Alice Gibson
   1960, Los Angeles: Leroy Blaylock — Adrian Dunn — Dale Langford
   1980, New York: Terry Eriksmoen — Bruce Hagen — Sylvia Hagen — Rocky Kuhn — Kathy Piccagli — Tracy Potter — Teresa Tande
   1996, Chicago: LaRoy Baird — Mary C. Baird — Gerard Freisz — James Sears
   2004, Boston: Tom Dickson — Ron Hodge — Renee Pfenning — Chris Runge — Joe Satrom
   2008, Denver: Susan Edwards — Stephen McDonough — Renee Pfenning — Tracy Potter — Katherine Satrom — David Strauss
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: Alexander Hughes
   1916, Chicago: E. A. Hughes — C. B. Little
   1924, Cleveland: P. O. Williams
   1932, Chicago: J. E. Davis — Mrs. D. E. Shipley
   1940, Philadelphia: Charles R. Robertson
   1948, Philadelphia: Milton L. Rue
   1952, Chicago: Math Dahl — Mrs. Robert Edick — Alvin Strutz
   1956, San Francisco: Mrs. Reuben Herr — Milton L. Rue — Lynn Sperry
   1960, Chicago: R. Fay Brown — Milton L. Rue — Ruth Staley
   1972, Miami Beach: Marian Bertsch — Jack Huss — Gary Schnell — Gerridee Wheeler — I. J. Wilhite
   2004, New York: Bonnie Daniel — John Hoeven — Mikey Hoeven — Karen Karls — Ken Karls — Jeff Olson — James A. Poolman — Wayne Stenehjem
   2008, St. Paul: Clare Carlson — Bob Christman — Tony Clark — Justin Dever — Gary Emineth — Curly Haugland — John Hoeven — Mikey Hoeven — Karen Karls — Marcia Kilzer — Lawrence R. Klemin — Mike Nathe — James A. Poolman — Peggy Puetz — Duane Sand — Margaret Sitte — Wayne Stenehjem — Susan E. Wefald — Dwight Wrangham
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ND/BU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]