The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in North Carolina

U.S. District Judges for North Carolina, 1790-1872 (may be incomplete!)
John Stokes 1790 John Sitgreaves 1790-94 John Sitgreaves 1797-1801 Asa Biggs 1858-61 George Washington Brooks 1865-72

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1790 Oct 12: John Stokes, died in office.
  • 1861 Apr 23: Asa Biggs, resigned.

    U.S. District Judges for the Albemarle, Cape Fear & Pamptico Districts of North Carolina, 1801-57 (may be incomplete!)
    John Sitgreaves 1801-02 Henry Potter 1802-57

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1802 Mar 4: John Sitgreaves, died in office.
  • 1857 Dec 20: Henry Potter, died in office.

    U.S. District Judges for the Edenton, New Bern & Wilmington Districts of North Carolina, 1794-97 (may be incomplete!)
    John Sitgreaves 1794-97

    U.S. District Judges for the Eastern District of North Carolina, 1872-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    George Washington Brooks 1872-82 Augustus Sherrill Seymour 1882-97 Thomas Richard Purnell 1897-1908 Isaac M. Meekins 1925-45 Algernon L. Butler 1959-75 John D. Larkins, Jr. 1967 Franklin Taylor Dupree, Jr. 1970-83 William Earl Britt 1980-97 Terrence William Boyle 1984- James C. Dever III 2005-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1882 Jan 6: George Washington Brooks, died in office.
  • 1897 Feb 19: Augustus Sherrill Seymour, died in office.
  • 1908 Dec 19: Thomas Richard Purnell, died in office.
  • 1945 Feb 13: Isaac M. Meekins, took senior status.
  • 1975 Aug 2: Algernon L. Butler, took senior status.
  • 1983 Dec 31: Franklin Taylor Dupree, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1997 Dec 7: William Earl Britt, took senior status.

    U.S. District Judges for the Middle District of North Carolina, 1957-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    Edwin M. Stanley 1957-71 L. Richardson Preyer 1961-63 Eugene Andrew Gordon 1964-82 Hiram Hamilton Ward 1972-88 Richard Cannon Erwin 1980-92 Frank William Bullock, Jr. 1982- James A. Beaty, Jr. 1994- Thomas D. Schroeder 2008- Catherine Caldwell Eagles 2010- Loretta Copeland Biggs 2014-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1971 Dec 23: Edwin M. Stanley, died in office.
  • 1982 Jul 12: Eugene Andrew Gordon, took senior status.
  • 1988 Aug 20: Hiram Hamilton Ward, took senior status.
  • 1992 Sep 22: Richard Cannon Erwin, took senior status.

    U.S. District Judges for the Western District of North Carolina, 1898-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    Hamilton G. Ewart 1898-99 Hamilton G. Ewart 1899-1900 James E. Boyd 1900-19 Edwin Y. Webb 1919-48 David E. Henderson 1948-49 J. Braxton Craven, Jr. 1961-66 James B. McMillan 1968-89 David Bryan Sentelle 1985-87 Graham Calder Mullen 1990-2005 H. Brent McKnight 2003-04 Robert James Conrad, Jr. 2005- Max Oliver Cogburn, Jr. 2011-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1949 Feb 14: David E. Henderson, resigned.
  • 1989 Sep 1: James B. McMillan, took senior status.
  • 2004 Nov 27: H. Brent McKnight, died in office.
  • 2005 Dec 1: Graham Calder Mullen, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]