The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
North Carolina: State Treasurers

North Carolina State Treasurers, 1784-1997 (May be incomplete!)
Memucan Hunt 1784-87 John Haywood 1787-1827 William Robards 1827-30 William S. Mhoon 1831-35 Samuel F. Patterson 1835-37 Daniel W. Courts 1837-39 Charles L. Hinton 1839-43 John H. Wheeler 1843-45 Charles L. Hinton 1845-51 Daniel W. Courts 1851-62 Jonathan Worth 1862-65 William Sloan 1865 Kemp P. Battle 1866-68 David A. Jenkins 1868-76 John M. Worth 1876-85 Donald W. Bain 1885-92 Samuel McD. Tate 1892-94 William H. Worth 1895-1901 Benjamin R. Lacy 1901-29 C. M. Johnson 1935 Edwin M. Gill 1953-77 Harlan Edward Boyles 1977-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1827 Nov 18: John Haywood, died in office.
  • 1839 Apr 15: Daniel W. Courts, resigned.
  • 1892 Nov 16: Donald W. Bain, died in office.
  • 1900: Benjamin R. Lacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1904: Benjamin R. Lacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1908: Benjamin R. Lacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1912: Benjamin R. Lacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1916: Benjamin R. Lacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1920: Benjamin R. Lacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1929 Feb 21: Benjamin R. Lacy, died in office.
  • 1964: Charles J. Mitchell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968: Clyde R. Greene (Rep), defeated.
  • 1976: Howard Coble, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]