The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
North Carolina: Associate Justices of the Supreme Court

Associate Justices of North Carolina Supreme Court, 1777-2002 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel Ashe 1777 John Williams of Montpelier as of 1779-99 John Haywood 1794 Leonard Henderson 1818 Thomas Ruffin 1829-52 William H. Battle 1848 William H. Battle 1852-67 Thomas Ruffin 1858-59 Matthias Evans Manly 1860-65 Edwin Godwin Reade as of 1865-79 William B. Rodman 1868-78 Thomas Settle as of 1868-71 Nathaniel Boyden as of 1872-73 Thomas Samuel Ashe as of 1878-87 William N. H. Smith as of 1878-89 A. S. Merrimon 1883-89 Walter Clark 1889-1902 Robert Martin Douglas as of 1897-1905 Charles A. Cook 1901-03 Platt D. Walker 1903-23 George H. Brown as of 1905-16 William A. Hoke as of 1905-21 James S. Manning as of 1909-10 William Reynolds Allen 1911-21 Walter P. Stacy as of 1921 Heriot Clarkson 1923-42 W. J. Brogden 1926-35 William J. Adams 1927-34 George W. Connor 1927-38 Michael Schenck 1934-48 William A. Devin 1935-45 J. Wallace Winborne 1937-45 M. V. Barnhill 1937-48 Aaron A. F. Seawell 1938-45 Emery B. Denny 1942-62 Sam J. Ervin, Jr. 1948-54 R. Hunt Parker 1952-66 William H. Bobbitt 1954-69 Carlisle W. Higgins 1954- William B. Rodman 1956-65 Susie Marshall Sharp 1962-74 I. Beverly Lake 1965-78 Burley B. Mitchell, Jr. as of 1982-94 I. Beverly Lake, Jr. as of 1992-93 I. Beverly Lake, Jr. as of 1995-2000 G. K. Butterfield as of 2001-02

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1868: A. S. Merrimon, defeated.
  • 1873 Nov 20: Nathaniel Boyden, died in office.
  • 1887 Feb 4: Thomas Samuel Ashe, died in office.
  • 1904: George H. Brown, elected; William A. Hoke, elected.
  • 1910: William Reynolds Allen, elected.
  • 1912: George H. Brown, elected; William A. Hoke, elected.
  • 1918: William Reynolds Allen (Dem), elected.
  • 1920: William A. Hoke, elected; Walter P. Stacy (Dem), elected.
  • 1921 Sep 8: William Reynolds Allen, died in office.
  • 1923 May 22: Platt D. Walker, died in office.
  • 1923 May 26: Heriot Clarkson, appointed.
  • 1924: Heriot Clarkson, elected.
  • 1926: Heriot Clarkson, elected.
  • 1934: Heriot Clarkson (Dem), elected.
  • 1934 May 20: William J. Adams, died in office.
  • 1934 May 28: Michael Schenck, appointed.
  • 1935 Oct 29: W. J. Brogden, died in office.
  • 1935 Nov 4: William A. Devin, appointed.
  • 1937 Apr 1: J. Wallace Winborne, appointed.
  • 1937 Jul 1: M. V. Barnhill, appointed.
  • 1938 Apr 23: George W. Connor, died in office.
  • 1938 May 2: Aaron A. F. Seawell, appointed.
  • 1942 Jan 27: Heriot Clarkson, died in office.
  • 1942 Feb 3: Emery B. Denny, appointed.
  • 1948 Jan 31: Michael Schenck, resigned.
  • 1948 Feb 3: Sam J. Ervin, Jr., appointed.
  • 1982: Burley B. Mitchell, Jr., appointed.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Carl L. Tilghman (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/spaj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]