The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
North Carolina: Secretaries of State

North Carolina Secretaries of State, 1777-1996 (May be incomplete!)
James Glasgow 1777-98 William White 1798-1810 William Hill 1811-59 Rufus H. Page 1859-62 John P. H. Russ 1862-64 Charles R. Thomas 1864-65 Robert W. Best 1866-67 Henry J. Memminger 1868-71 William H. Howerton 1872-75 Joseph A. Engelhard 1876-79 William L. Saunders 1879-91 Octavius Coke 1891-95 Charles M. Cooke 1895-96 Cyrus Thompson 1897-1900 J. Bryan Grimes 1901-23 William Nash Everett 1923-28 Stacey W. Wade 1935 Thad Eure 1936-89 Rufus L. Edmisten 1988-96

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900: J. Bryan Grimes (Dem), elected.
  • 1904: J. Bryan Grimes (Dem), elected.
  • 1908: J. Bryan Grimes (Dem), elected.
  • 1912: J. Bryan Grimes (Dem), elected.
  • 1916: J. Bryan Grimes (Dem), elected.
  • 1920: J. Bryan Grimes (Dem), elected.
  • 1923 Jan 16: J. Bryan Grimes, died in office.
  • 1928 Feb 7: William Nash Everett, died in office.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Thad Eure (Dem), elected.
  • 1940: Thad Eure (Dem), elected.
  • 1944: Thad Eure (Dem), elected.
  • 1948: Thad Eure (Dem), elected.
  • 1952: Thad Eure (Dem), elected.
  • 1956: Thad Eure (Dem), elected.
  • 1964: Edwin E. Butler (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968: John P. East, defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Richard Petty (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]