The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
North Carolina: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of North Carolina, 1868-2009 (May be incomplete!)
Tod R. Caldwell 1868-70 Curtis H. Brogden 1873-74 Thomas J. Jarvis 1877-79 James L. Robinson 1881-84 Charles M. Stedman 1885-89 Thomas M. Holt 1889-91 Rufus A. Doughton 1893-97 Charles A. Reynolds 1897-1901 Wilfred D. Turner 1901-05 Francis D. Winston 1905-09 William C. Newland 1909-13 Elijah L. Daughtridge 1913-17 O. Max Gardner 1917-21 William B. Cooper 1921-25 J. Elmer Long 1925-29 Richard T. Fountain 1929-33 Alexander H. Graham 1933-37 Wilkins P. Horton 1937-41 Reginald L. Harris 1941-45 Lynton Y. Ballentine 1945-49 Hoyt Patrick Taylor 1949-53 Luther H. Hodges 1953-54 Luther E. Barnhardt 1957-61 Harvey Cloyd Philpott 1961 Robert Scott 1965-69 Hoyt Patrick Taylor, Jr. 1969-73 James B. Hunt, Jr. 1973-77 Jimmy Green 1977-85 Robert B. Jordan III 1985-89 James Carson Gardner 1989-93 Dennis Alvin Wicker 1993-2001 Bev Perdue 2001-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884: Charles M. Stedman, elected.
  • 1888: Jeter C. Pritchard, defeated.
  • 1924: Robert R. Reynolds, defeated for nomination.
  • 1928: Walter H. Fisher (Rep), defeated.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Alexander H. Graham (Dem), elected.
  • 1952 Nov 4: Luther H. Hodges (Dem), elected.
  • 1961 Aug 18: Harvey Cloyd Philpott, died in office.
  • 1964: Clifford Lee Bell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968: Don H. Garren, defeated.
  • 1976: Jimmy Green, elected.
  • 2008 May 6: Hampton Dellinger (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]