The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Charlotte, North Carolina

Mayors of Charlotte, 1853-2009 (may be incomplete!)
William F. Davidson 1853-57 David Parks 1857-59 Jennings B. Kerr 1859-60 William A. Owens 1861-62 Robert F. Davidson 1862-63 Samuel A. Harris 1864-65 H. M. Pritchard 1865-66 Samuel A. Harris 1866-67 F. W. Ahrens 1867-68 H. M. Pritchard 1868-69 Clement Dowd 1869-71 John A. Young 1871-73 William F. Davidson 1873-75 William Johnston 1875-78 B. R. Smith 1878-79 F. I. Osborne 1879-80 F. S. DeWolfe 1880-83 W. C. Maxwell 1883-84 William Johnston 1884-87 F. Brevard McDowell 1887-91 R. J. Brevard 1891-95 James H. Weddington 1895-97 E. B. Spring 1897-99 J. D. McCall 1899-1901 Peter Marshall Brown 1901-05 Samuel S. McNinch 1905-07 T. S. Franklin 1907-09 T. W. Hawkins 1909-11 Charles A. Bland 1911-15 T. L. Kirkpatrick 1915-17 Frank R. McNinch 1917-20 John M. Wilson 1920-21 James O. Walker 1921-24 Harvey W. Moore 1924-26 David M. Abernathy 1926-27 F. Marion Redd 1927-29 George E. Wilson, Jr. 1929-31 Charles E. Lambeth 1931-33 Arthur E. Wearn 1933-35 Ben E. Douglas 1935-41 E. McA. Currie 1941-43 H. H. Baxter 1943-49 Victor Shaw 1949-53 Philip L. Van Every 1953-57 James Saxon Smith 1957-61 Stanford R. Brookshire 1961-69 John Belk 1969-77 Kenneth R. Harris 1977-79 Eddie Knox 1979-83 Harvey B. Gantt 1983-87 Sue Myrick 1987-91 Richard Vinroot 1991-95 Pat McCrory 1995-2009

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1995 Sep 26: Hoyle Martin (Dem), nominated; David Erdman (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1995 Sep 26: Pat McCrory (Rep), nominated; Ed Peacock (Rep), defeated in primary; Steve James (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1995 Nov 7: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Hoyle Martin (Dem), defeated.
  • 1997 Sep 23: Jim Harwood (Dem), nominated; Leonard Harris (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1997 Sep 23: Pat McCrory (Rep), nominated; Ken Pfenninger (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1997 Nov 4: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Jim Harwood (Dem), defeated.
  • 1999 Sep 21: Ella B. Scarborough (Dem), nominated; Leonard Harris (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Ella B. Scarborough (Dem), defeated.
  • 2001 Sep 25: Ella B. Scarborough (Dem), nominated; Susan Burgess (Dem), defeated in primary; Ron Morgan (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Ella B. Scarborough (Dem), defeated.
  • 2003 Sep 23: Craig Madans (Dem), nominated; Leonard Harris (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2003 Sep 23: Pat McCrory (Rep), nominated; Michael J. Castano (Rep), defeated in primary; Edward J. Mulheren (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Craig Madans (Dem), defeated; Carlton L. Harvey (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2005 Sep 27: Pat McCrory (Rep), nominated; Martin Davis (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Craig Madans (Dem), defeated.
  • 2007 Sep 11: Pat McCrory (Rep), nominated; Ken Gjertsen (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Pat McCrory (Rep), elected; Beverly Earle (Dem), defeated.
  • 2009 Sep 15: John W. Lassiter (Rep), nominated; Martin Davis (Rep), defeated in primary; Jack Sheldon Stratton III (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Anthony Foxx (Dem), elected; John W. Lassiter (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Charlotte, 1794-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Edward Waine 1794-99 Ephraim B. Davidson 1799-1801 Archibald Frew 1801-10 James Robb 1810-11 Archibald Frew 1811-14 William Davidson 1814-15 Archibald Frew 1815-19 John Vail 1819-20 William Smith 1820-32 Henry B. Williams 1832-44 Joseph W. Hampton 1844-45 Amzi McGinn 1845-47 Harriet E. McGinn 1847 Alexander Beaty 1847-48 Abraham C. Steele 1848-49 Alexander Graham 1849-52 Francis M. Ross 1852-61 Charles A. Frazier 1865-74 Robert E. McDonald 1874-76 William W. Jenkins 1876-85 John A. Young 1885-89 Archibald Brady 1889-93 Thomas R. Robertson 1893-97 Jonas W. Mullen 1897-1903 Robert W. Smith 1903-07 John B. Spence 1907-13 James H. Weddington 1913-22 Judson D. Albright 1922 Judson D. Albright 1922-34 William R. Robertson 1934 Paul R. Younts 1934-41 Keely A. Grice 1941-42 George A. Wilson, Jr. 1942-57 Edward H. Thomas 1957-58 Edward H. Thomas 1958-65 George F. Carpenter 1965-66 George F. Carpenter 1966-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ofc/charlotte.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]