The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Johnston County
North Carolina

Johnston County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Johnston County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Johnston County (incomplete!): Joel A. Johnson, as of 1952

Johnston County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: J. W. B. Watson
   1912, Baltimore: Edward S. Abell
   1916, St. Louis: Edward W. Pou
   1924, New York: Edward S. Abell
   1928, Houston: F. H. Brooks
   1940, Chicago: James R. Pool
   1944, Chicago: James R. Pool
   1952, Chicago: Frank B. Holding
   1956, Chicago: W. Jack Hooks
   1964, Atlantic City: Nina E. Johnson
   2004, Boston: Loretta Woodard
Republican National Conventions:
   1868, Chicago: J. B. Cook
   1908, Chicago: James C. Stancil
   1916, Chicago: James D. Parker
   1920, Chicago: James D. Parker
   1924, Cleveland: James Raynor
   1928, Kansas City: Ezra Parker
   1932, Chicago: J. Ira Lee — Ezra Parker
   1936, Cleveland: A. J. Fitzgerald
   1940, Philadelphia: Clyde L. Stancil
   1948, Philadelphia: Joel A. Johnson
   1952, Chicago: Joel A. Johnson
   1956, San Francisco: O. B. Batten
   1960, Chicago: O. B. Batten
   1972, Miami Beach: Alfred Surles
   2004, New York: Linwood Parker
   2008, St. Paul: James W. Lee, Jr. — Danny Eugene Mansell — Dodie Bowman Renfer — John Calvin Young
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/JO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]