The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Durham County
North Carolina

Durham County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Durham County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Durham County (incomplete!): A. A. McDonald, as of 1952

Durham County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1888, St. Louis: Julian S. Carr
   1904, St. Louis: Victor S. Bryant — Julian S. Carr
   1912, Baltimore: Victor S. Bryant — Julian S. Carr
   1916, St. Louis: Julian S. Carr
   1924, New York: Sumter C. Brawley
   1928, Houston: R. O. Everett
   1940, Chicago: Sumter C. Brawley
   1944, Chicago: J. Elmer Long — R. P. Reade
   1948, Philadelphia: Victor S. Bryant, Jr. — William B. Umstead
   1952, Chicago: J. Leslie Atkins
   1956, Chicago: J. Leslie Atkins — S. E. Blaine — Victor S. Bryant, Jr. — William H. Murdock — Mary Trent Semans
   1964, Atlantic City: J. Leslie Atkins — I. L. Dean — Ralph N. Strayhorn — John Wheeler
   1988, Atlanta: Kenneth B. Spaulding
   1996, Chicago: Thomas Charles Adams III — Lavonia Allison — T. E. Austin II — Kenda R. Kirby — Mickey Micheaux — Carol Teal
   2000, Los Angeles: Lavonia Allison — T. E. Austin II
   2004, Boston: Thomas Adams — Lavonia Allison — T. E. Austin II — Cora Cole-McFadden — Zack Hawkins — Shelia Huggins — Evelyn S. Lovett — Sharon Thompson
   2008, Denver: Elizabeth Albright — Lavonia Allison — T. E. Austin II — Bill Bell — Cora Cole-McFadden — Anita S. Earls — Kevin Farmer — C. F. Fox — Harris C. Johnson, Sr. — Ellen Reckhow
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: W. T. O'Brien
   1904, Chicago: W. T. O'Brien
   1908, Chicago: John C. Angier
   1924, Cleveland: William G. Bramham — J. B. Mason
   1928, Kansas City: William G. Bramham
   1932, Chicago: William G. Bramham
   1936, Cleveland: C. D. Riggsbee
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. W. P. Few
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. W. P. Few
   1956, San Francisco: Russell N. Barringer
   1964, San Francisco: G. Fred Steele
   1968, Miami Beach: Russell N. Barringer
   1972, Miami Beach: Russell N. Barringer — David Nolan
   1988, New Orleans: Howard Clement
   2008, St. Paul: Robert H. Appleby — Jeffery A. Palmer
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/DU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]